Traditional Flavor Yogurt Starter

Price
Value
Quality
22 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

$9.99
Quality
5 star :
100%
( 22 )
Value
5 star :
86%
( 19 )
4 star :
14%
( 3 )
Price
5 star :
86%
( 19 )
4 star :
14%
( 3 )
Total : 22 Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 22 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
excellent! Review by Steffie
Price
Value
Quality
this is easy to use, and is great tasing! Good results following directions! (Posted on August 26, 2011)
skydisco3@yahoo.com Review by Sarah
Quality
Value
Price
We've tried all of the different starters on this site, but our favorite is this traditional flavor one. So easy to use, and it tastes wonderful. (Posted on December 9, 2011)
Great yogurt starter Review by Maggie
Quality
Price
Value
We make 2 quarts at a time in a Yogourmet yogurt maker, using a long ferment (12-15 hours). We switched from using Yogourmet starter to this Traditional Flavor Yogurt Starter. It produces a more firm yogurt and there is less separation of the whey. The taste is delicious. (Posted on January 27, 2012)
A novice's best success yet Review by Charlo
Quality
Value
Price
I'm fairly new to the yogurt making, and it scared me a bit...

Taste of this culture wasn't-the-same-as-but-reminded-me-of the Brown Cow unsweetened yogurt... This is the first batch of yogurt I felt safe eating instead of just baking with it. Best smell, texture, and flavor of my attempts so far.

I was really happy to find this nothing but culture starter (no maltodextrin) that I can use with my favorite un-homogenized, grass-fed milk. I only used 1/2 packet for a quart of milk, and since this comes with 8 packets (and I can save my yogurt to make a few back-to-back batches without opening more packets), this culture will last me for a long time. Totally worth it, and I am excited to try out more of this company's cultures. (Posted on March 15, 2012)
Totally Satisfied!! Review by navywifearmymom
Quality
Value
Price
This starter did just what it said! My first batch turned out perfectly, as did the second! The taste isn't as tart as I expected, but I think I can let it incubate a bit longer to get more tartness. My first batch I set the timer for 8 hours but the yogurt was well set at 7, so I stopped the incubation. The consistency is so smooth - MUCH better than when I was using yogurt itself as the starter. I use a Euro Cuisine Yogurt maker, but I use 8 oz freezer cups instead of the 6 oz glass jars, and it turns out perfect every time!! Looking forward to trying other Cultures for Health starters! Thanks for a GREAT experience!
(Posted on May 15, 2012)
Very happy with this starter Review by kate
Value
Quality
Price
After failure after failure trying to make almond milk yogurt with the vegan starter I gave up !That went on for over a year...
so I said the heck with it & decided to try cows milk yogurt using the starter that came with my yogurt maker.. success!!!!

Since I ran out of the starter that came with my yogurt maker I thought I would try your regular starter & began with this one.
It came out fantastic- it is taking much restraint to only have one serving a day. I do add about 5 TBSP of powdered milk per quart, and the results are perfect- thick and creamy.
I use low temp pasteurized low fat cows milk.
I may just experiment with some coconut milk since I have a few cans on hand.
I love this yogurt so much I purchased the extra layer for the Cuisine machine and the 8 extra jars so I will never find myself without yogurt ! (Posted on May 22, 2013)
Excellent product Review by Ejwitman
Value
Quality
Price
This culture used in goat milk delivers the slightly tart I love in yogurt (Posted on November 20, 2013)
Couldn't be happier Review by Freeborn
Value
Quality
Price
I am very impressed with the thick creamy tangy yogurt this produced. I had been continuing a greek yogurt culture each week but I wasn't eating it often enough. This is so much better. When I want yogurt I can have it the next day, no serial culturing.

I started with raw milk but for the first batch I heated the milk as instructed then cooled, added the culture and incubated it overnight.

Very easy and very tasty! (Posted on December 21, 2013)
Delicious, healthy yogurt Review by Diane
Price
Value
Quality
Easy to use starter makes a delicious, creamy yogurt when used with raw milk. (Posted on January 23, 2014)
Perfect Review by Sabinesandiego
Quality
Price
Value
My yogurt has excellent flavor. I use whole milk and 1/2&1/2 Milk and let the yogurt ripen for 24 hours before draining. Getting better in flavor and consistency over time. The traditional yogurt culture is my favorite. I use my oven to make yogurt, the oven light gives the perfect temperature. I make a big batch/bowl every week. (Posted on January 25, 2014)

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Traditional Flavor Yogurt Starter

How do you rate this product? *

  1 2 3 4 5
Price
Value
Quality


Free eBook Library Access & Weekly Newsletter


Sign up today for free access to our entire library of easy to follow eBooks on creating cultured foods at home, including Lacto-Fermentation, Kombucha, Kefir, Yogurt, Sourdough, and Cheesemaking.
  • Library of eBooks for making your own cultured foods
  • Weekly newsletter filled with tips & tricks
  • Expert advice articles, recipes, and how-to videos
  • Join 150,000+ other health-conscious readers
  • We never share your information!
first name last name email address