Matsoni Yogurt Starter

Quality
Price
Value
19 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

$12.99
Quality
5 star :
84%
( 16 )
1 star :
16%
( 3 )
Value
5 star :
68%
( 13 )
4 star :
16%
( 3 )
1 star :
16%
( 3 )
Price
5 star :
53%
( 10 )
4 star :
26%
( 5 )
3 star :
5%
( 1 )
2 star :
11%
( 2 )
1 star :
5%
( 1 )
Total : 19 Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 19 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
BignJames@frontier.com Review by BignJames
Price
Value
Quality
Great yogurt....good consistency and flavor. Make sure milk is at room temp. before adding starter. (Posted on December 15, 2011)
Wow Review by Antoinette
Quality
Price
Value
I ordered this one by mistake... and I sure am glad I did... This yogurt is so mild tasting and I love the consistency. Also I've noticed that right after I drink it, I feel great! Thank you so much for this lovely product!!! (Posted on January 24, 2013)
Fabulous Yogurt Review by Sherry, from Avalon Naturals
Value
Quality
Price
This was my first attempt at making my own yogurt and I am HOOKED. The Matsoni is very easy to maintain. In a warm, sunny room, it took about 12 hours to culture. It has a nice twangy flavor to it & though I tried adding some flavors, I preferred the natural taste. It's somewhat thinner than I expected, but I had to remind myself of what store-bought yogurts contained. It's much thicker than kefir, but I still like to put it in a glass and drink it rather than sitting down with a bowl & spoon. (Posted on February 8, 2013)
Great taste, great value Review by Anna
Value
Quality
Price
I was looking for a yogurt that required no heating of milk or long incubation period, and when I saw this and remembered the taste of some Georgian yogurt I had a long time ago I thought to give it a try. I was a bit nervous because the first batch took a long time to culture (almost 48 hours), but when it finally set, it was a lovely, mild and soft yogurt, just as I remembered it. It's thinner and runnier than storebought yogurts, but has a very, very fresh and smooth taste--like one of the previous reviewers says, it's actually better on its own that with anything added. It recultures fast--second and subsequent batches only took 12 hours in a 70 degree room (I have a drafty kitchen so yogurt sits on a bookshelf in the living room). I use full-fat milk, mostly organic, but it works like a charm with plain non-rGB milk as well. Definitely recommending as it's a ton easier than any other method. (Posted on April 7, 2013)
Great culture Review by Loops
Quality
Value
Price
Awesome culture, thick and very tasty! Give it a whirl! (Posted on December 21, 2013)
Arrived quickly and tastes great Review by Jenn
Quality
Price
Value
Arrived quickly and tastes great! (Posted on February 13, 2014)
Great yogurt Review by Haley
Value
Quality
Price
This is the second yogurt culture I have purchased from Cultures for Health and I love it. This seems to take about 13 hours to culture in my house but it is very tasty and great for breakfast. (Posted on March 25, 2014)
Yummy :) Review by Jodi
Value
Quality
Price
Order came super fast, thank you! Took 48 hours to activate the culture, but it was totally worth the wait. Yogurt is now ready in 12 to 18 hours depending on room temp. I've made a couple of gallons now (in 8 oz canning jars), and have been super happy with each and every jar. I've used whole, whole with half &half, and raw milks. All worked extremely well. Not the thick yogurt you find in stores, but I actually love it this way. My neighbor, who lives in Japan 4 months out of the year, said it was thicker than the CSY in Japan, so he's been culturing for 12 hours and loving it that way. He said that they drink this yogurt in Japan, not eat it with a spoon. Love it! Thanks again! (Posted on May 12, 2014)
Best. Yogurt. Ever. Review by Nan
Value
Quality
Price
I have never tasted a better yogurt. I make it with raw milk and everyone who tries it raves about it. The Matsoni yogurt is delicious plain with nothing added to it, but it is also fantastic with fruit, honey, coffee, chocolate, vanilla, etc. It can be tricky getting the right temperature to culture it. I am currently making it in my upstairs bedroom because the temp is more appropriate there than in my kitchen. And this is something I have learned with lots of trial and error. (Posted on July 10, 2014)
Good value Review by W.L.
Price
Value
Quality
Can't beat having fresh yogurt on hand at all times! So easy, healthy for you, and tasty. Thinner than commercial products because there aren't any starch fillers, very delicious with a somewhat tart taste. Love to use this in smoothies or strain out to make my own Greek yogurt. Value purchase because you get two starter packets but each one can be used indefinitely and without a yogurt making machine. Highly recommend! (Posted on July 17, 2014)

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Matsoni Yogurt Starter

How do you rate this product? *

  1 2 3 4 5
Quality
Price
Value


Free eBook Library Access & Weekly Newsletter


Sign up today for free access to our entire library of easy to follow eBooks on creating cultured foods at home, including Lacto-Fermentation, Kombucha, Kefir, Yogurt, Sourdough, and Cheesemaking.
  • Library of eBooks for making your own cultured foods
  • Weekly newsletter filled with tips & tricks
  • Expert advice articles, recipes, and how-to videos
  • Join 150,000+ other health-conscious readers
  • We never share your information!
first name last name email address