Matsoni Yogurt Starter

Value
Quality
Price
14 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

$12.99
Quality
5 star :
79%
( 11 )
1 star :
21%
( 3 )
Value
5 star :
64%
( 9 )
4 star :
14%
( 2 )
1 star :
21%
( 3 )
Price
5 star :
50%
( 7 )
4 star :
29%
( 4 )
2 star :
14%
( 2 )
1 star :
7%
( 1 )
Total : 14 Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 14 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
BignJames@frontier.com Review by BignJames
Price
Value
Quality
Great yogurt....good consistency and flavor. Make sure milk is at room temp. before adding starter. (Posted on December 15, 2011)
Wow Review by Antoinette
Quality
Price
Value
I ordered this one by mistake... and I sure am glad I did... This yogurt is so mild tasting and I love the consistency. Also I've noticed that right after I drink it, I feel great! Thank you so much for this lovely product!!! (Posted on January 24, 2013)
Fabulous Yogurt Review by Sherry, from Avalon Naturals
Quality
Value
Price
This was my first attempt at making my own yogurt and I am HOOKED. The Matsoni is very easy to maintain. In a warm, sunny room, it took about 12 hours to culture. It has a nice twangy flavor to it & though I tried adding some flavors, I preferred the natural taste. It's somewhat thinner than I expected, but I had to remind myself of what store-bought yogurts contained. It's much thicker than kefir, but I still like to put it in a glass and drink it rather than sitting down with a bowl & spoon. (Posted on February 8, 2013)
Great taste, great value Review by Anna
Value
Quality
Price
I was looking for a yogurt that required no heating of milk or long incubation period, and when I saw this and remembered the taste of some Georgian yogurt I had a long time ago I thought to give it a try. I was a bit nervous because the first batch took a long time to culture (almost 48 hours), but when it finally set, it was a lovely, mild and soft yogurt, just as I remembered it. It's thinner and runnier than storebought yogurts, but has a very, very fresh and smooth taste--like one of the previous reviewers says, it's actually better on its own that with anything added. It recultures fast--second and subsequent batches only took 12 hours in a 70 degree room (I have a drafty kitchen so yogurt sits on a bookshelf in the living room). I use full-fat milk, mostly organic, but it works like a charm with plain non-rGB milk as well. Definitely recommending as it's a ton easier than any other method. (Posted on April 7, 2013)
Great culture Review by Loops
Quality
Price
Value
Awesome culture, thick and very tasty! Give it a whirl! (Posted on December 21, 2013)
Arrived quickly and tastes great Review by Jenn
Quality
Price
Value
Arrived quickly and tastes great! (Posted on February 13, 2014)
Great yogurt Review by Haley
Value
Quality
Price
This is the second yogurt culture I have purchased from Cultures for Health and I love it. This seems to take about 13 hours to culture in my house but it is very tasty and great for breakfast. (Posted on March 25, 2014)
I highly recommend Matsoni Review by experimental cook
Price
Value
Quality
The Matsoni starter was very easy to get going and is easy to maintain. I use raw Jersey milk to make my yogurt and it's rich and delicious. My favorite way to use the Matsoni is making frozen yogurt with fresh strawberries or peaches and palm sugar or raw honeyfor sweetener. Yum!!! My family has definitely given it a thumbs up :-) (Posted on August 5, 2011)
Love this yogurt Review by Alexandra
Price
Value
Quality
I made my first matsoni using yogurt made by a friend's mom in Japan. When that strain died due to an unfortunate kitchen accident, I got the matsoni starter from Cultures for Health, and have had great results. It makes a somewhat thin, but creamy tasting yogurt. Delicious on cereal or granola, with honey or jam, or just plain. It's especially delightful when made from half-and-half. (Posted on March 15, 2012)
Love this stuff! Review by kitchen wrecker
Value
Quality
Price
Matsoni Yogurt is easy and delicious. My starter took 36 hours to set and I culture the yogurt using raw milk or 2% pasteurized and homogenized for 12 hours. The results are consistent with each batch and milk type. It does set up the same between batches and milk types. I do not find it to be tart at all,it is the mildest tasting cultured milk product I've ever had. Much easier than making yogurt in a yoogurt maker, even easier than kefir. (Posted on April 13, 2011)

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Matsoni Yogurt Starter

How do you rate this product? *

  1 2 3 4 5
Value
Quality
Price


Free eBook Library Access & Weekly Newsletter


Sign up today for free access to our entire library of easy to follow eBooks on creating cultured foods at home, including Lacto-Fermentation, Kombucha, Kefir, Yogurt, Sourdough, and Cheesemaking.
  • Library of eBooks for making your own cultured foods
  • Weekly newsletter filled with tips & tricks
  • Expert advice articles, recipes, and how-to videos
  • Join 140,000+ other health-conscious readers
  • We never share your information!
first name last name email address