Filmjolk Yogurt Starter

Value
Quality
Price
14 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

Regular Price: $12.99

Special Price: $9.99

Quality
5 star :
86%
( 12 )
4 star :
14%
( 2 )
Value
5 star :
79%
( 11 )
4 star :
14%
( 2 )
3 star :
7%
( 1 )
Price
5 star :
57%
( 8 )
4 star :
36%
( 5 )
3 star :
7%
( 1 )
Total : 14 Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 14 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
Love this starter! Review by Carriek
Quality
Value
Price
Super easy to make, perfect for smoothies, separates easily into whey. Tart, refreshing flavor. I've had this culture going for almost a year now, with no change in flavor or consistency. (Posted on March 16, 2011)
Wonderful Filmjolk Review by JollyJen
Quality
Value
Price
Filmjolk is delicious and exceptionally easy to make. It has a mild, ever so slightly tangy flavor and a lovely delicate texture, which my children appreciate. I use filmjolk every day. It's great for homemade muesli. It is very nice with some fruits, nuts, maple or honey, and I've even been able to use filmjolk with some jam or lingonberry preserves as a dessert for my children. I have a nice dessert trick for filmjolk. I mix a little coconut oil with an equal amount honey. When you pour cold filmjolk on this, it will harden the mixture. Then, you can break the mixture apart with a fork, making lovely honey chips in the filmjolk. I highly recommend this product. (Posted on May 5, 2011)
my favorite mesophilic yogurt Review by jasonbaker@herzeleid.net
Value
Quality
Price
Of all the mesophilic (can make at room temp) yogurts, this is by far my favorite . Very versatile , great in smoothies, to cook with, as a salad dressing base and makes great yogurt cheese. The subtle cheese-like flavor really gives the flavor more character without being overwhelming or undesirable . So easy to make and maintain too ! (Posted on March 29, 2012)
The very best yogurt Review by swedishsweetie
Quality
Value
Price
This summer I remembered my Swedish grandmother making filbunk (sp) in a bowl on her cupboard when I was a child. I have been making filmjolk since I found this website. Although it is quite different than my grandmother's yogurt, it is delicious. My sister and her children now eat quantities of it as well. It is so easy to make. This winter I have found that putting the jars, covered with 2 towels, on baking sheet on my cable box for approximately 22 hours makes the finest yogurt I have ever made. I heartily recommend it to anyone. (Posted on January 17, 2012)
Authentic Review by UC
Quality
Price
Value
I was born and raised in Sweden, and ths starter is the closest thing to filmjölk I have had outside of the Nordic countries.

Not that it matters, but filmjölk is Swedish (fil is viili in Finnish), so I had to smile when you say that this is a Finnish product. (Posted on May 14, 2014)
Easy to Use and smooth taste with great fermented benefit. Enjoy in smoothie Review by golden petal
Quality
Price
Value
Great flavor made with organic lowfat milk (Posted on June 4, 2014)
Drain it for a great "sour cream" alternative. Review by Crystal
Value
Quality
Price
I love milking my goats, and finding unusual uses for the surplus; but I need sour cream regularly for the scones I make for my husbands breakfast. I tried thickening Kefir, but didn't get that right yet. (recipe anyone?) However, drained Filmjolk tastes so similar to sour cream and works in the recipe! Yippy! Another step towards independence from the grocery store! (Posted on June 18, 2014)
Nice yogurt Review by W.L.
Price
Value
Quality
I think I like this more than the matsoni yogurt because it is milder and less tart. Excellent yogurt and so easy to make. Both are great products, I just prefer this one for eating plain as is and use the matsoni for smoothies, dressings, etc. Highly recommend! (Posted on July 23, 2014)
Variety of uses Review by Dan
Quality
Value
Price
The unique properties of this yogurt allow it to be used for many purposes other than just a plain yogurt. It seems to prefer the cooler side of temps and is great as a buttermilk substitute or just drank as is (all you have to do is shake it up in it's jar). It makes an incredible sour cream when cultured into heavy whipping cream. Take your cream, salt it to taste, culture it and let it finish, incredible result similar to the heavy Mexican Vera Cruz style - super ropey texture almost like honey after being stirred. You will never buy sour cream again after trying this one. (Posted on February 15, 2013)
my kids love this yogurt Review by ania
Quality
Value
Price
Easy to make, very mild comparing to kefir. (Posted on December 24, 2013)

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Filmjolk Yogurt Starter

How do you rate this product? *

  1 2 3 4 5
Value
Quality
Price


Free eBook Library Access & Weekly Newsletter


Sign up today for free access to our entire library of easy to follow eBooks on creating cultured foods at home, including Lacto-Fermentation, Kombucha, Kefir, Yogurt, Sourdough, and Cheesemaking.
  • Library of eBooks for making your own cultured foods
  • Weekly newsletter filled with tips & tricks
  • Expert advice articles, recipes, and how-to videos
  • Join 150,000+ other health-conscious readers
  • We never share your information!
first name last name email address