Filmjolk Yogurt Starter

Value
Quality
Price
8 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

$12.99
Quality
5 star :
88%
( 7 )
4 star :
13%
( 1 )
Value
5 star :
75%
( 6 )
4 star :
13%
( 1 )
3 star :
13%
( 1 )
Price
5 star :
50%
( 4 )
4 star :
38%
( 3 )
3 star :
13%
( 1 )
Total : 8 Reviews

8 Item(s)

per page
Love this starter! Review by Carriek
Value
Quality
Price
Super easy to make, perfect for smoothies, separates easily into whey. Tart, refreshing flavor. I've had this culture going for almost a year now, with no change in flavor or consistency. (Posted on March 16, 2011)
Wonderful Filmjolk Review by JollyJen
Quality
Value
Price
Filmjolk is delicious and exceptionally easy to make. It has a mild, ever so slightly tangy flavor and a lovely delicate texture, which my children appreciate. I use filmjolk every day. It's great for homemade muesli. It is very nice with some fruits, nuts, maple or honey, and I've even been able to use filmjolk with some jam or lingonberry preserves as a dessert for my children. I have a nice dessert trick for filmjolk. I mix a little coconut oil with an equal amount honey. When you pour cold filmjolk on this, it will harden the mixture. Then, you can break the mixture apart with a fork, making lovely honey chips in the filmjolk. I highly recommend this product. (Posted on May 5, 2011)
my favorite mesophilic yogurt Review by jasonbaker@herzeleid.net
Value
Quality
Price
Of all the mesophilic (can make at room temp) yogurts, this is by far my favorite . Very versatile , great in smoothies, to cook with, as a salad dressing base and makes great yogurt cheese. The subtle cheese-like flavor really gives the flavor more character without being overwhelming or undesirable . So easy to make and maintain too ! (Posted on March 29, 2012)
The very best yogurt Review by swedishsweetie
Price
Value
Quality
This summer I remembered my Swedish grandmother making filbunk (sp) in a bowl on her cupboard when I was a child. I have been making filmjolk since I found this website. Although it is quite different than my grandmother's yogurt, it is delicious. My sister and her children now eat quantities of it as well. It is so easy to make. This winter I have found that putting the jars, covered with 2 towels, on baking sheet on my cable box for approximately 22 hours makes the finest yogurt I have ever made. I heartily recommend it to anyone. (Posted on January 17, 2012)
Variety of uses Review by Dan
Quality
Price
Value
The unique properties of this yogurt allow it to be used for many purposes other than just a plain yogurt. It seems to prefer the cooler side of temps and is great as a buttermilk substitute or just drank as is (all you have to do is shake it up in it's jar). It makes an incredible sour cream when cultured into heavy whipping cream. Take your cream, salt it to taste, culture it and let it finish, incredible result similar to the heavy Mexican Vera Cruz style - super ropey texture almost like honey after being stirred. You will never buy sour cream again after trying this one. (Posted on February 15, 2013)
my kids love this yogurt Review by ania
Price
Value
Quality
Easy to make, very mild comparing to kefir. (Posted on December 24, 2013)
Now a Staple In My Kitchen Review by Tracebooks
Price
Value
Quality
I really agonized which cultures to try first. My youngest loves yogurt and was eating a large container of it each week all by herself. I was buying large ones because individual servings weren't very cost-effective with as much as she was eating. She was 5 when this was the case.

Last summer, I got some fil mjolk culture here. It cultured easily, and even though it was not the same as the Greek yogurt she'd been eating, she loved it! It's a bit like drinkable yogurt. She started drinking around a quart of it a day, all by herself! I usually put honey in it or berries, or a little flavored stevia drops.

Mid-summer, my fridge died, and I lost my starter culture. My older daughter, 11, cleaned up the kitchen afterwards and I thought I'd lost my powdered culture as well.

We tried piima and fiili for my younger daughter, but she really wasn't very enthusiastic about them.

Last week, when looking through some rarely-used cannisters, I found the other half of the dried powder starter! Tonight I'm starting the pure starter. My 6-year-old is looking forward to having her fil mjolk again by this time tomorrow. Had our fridge not died, I'm sure the original pure starter would still be going strong. (Posted on March 22, 2011)
Good Product, but.. Review by freelancer
Quality
Price
Value
This is a good kind of fermented product to try a few times. I have tried Villi, FilmJolk, Piima, and of course Kefir as well. In the end, simple Thermophilic Yogurt beats all these products hands down over the long term. (Posted on May 16, 2012)

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Filmjolk Yogurt Starter

How do you rate this product? *

  1 2 3 4 5
Value
Quality
Price


Free eBook Library Access & Weekly Newsletter


Sign up today for free access to our entire library of easy to follow eBooks on creating cultured foods at home, including Lacto-Fermentation, Kombucha, Kefir, Yogurt, Sourdough, and Cheesemaking.
  • Library of eBooks for making your own cultured foods
  • Weekly newsletter filled with tips & tricks
  • Expert advice articles, recipes, and how-to videos
  • Join 140,000+ other health-conscious readers
  • We never share your information!
first name last name email address