New England Sourdough Starter

Price
Value
Quality
16 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

$12.99
Quality
5 star :
100%
( 16 )
Value
5 star :
88%
( 14 )
4 star :
6%
( 1 )
3 star :
6%
( 1 )
Price
5 star :
56%
( 9 )
4 star :
25%
( 4 )
3 star :
19%
( 3 )
Total : 16 Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 16 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
success with sourdough Review by Holly
Quality
Price
Value
I have been very happy with this starter-even the children, who were less than thrilled with my sourdough recipes in the past, have truly enjoyed the pancakes, waffles, and breads that I've been making with this starter. Thanks for another great product! (Posted on February 2, 2011)
Great! Review by Vikki
Quality
Value
Price
I love this starter. I activated it several months ago and it's still going strong. I store it in the frig in between uses (2-3 weeks at a time) and it just goes to town again once feed. (Posted on May 23, 2012)
Perpetual Review by Kate
Price
Value
Quality
I made my first loaf of sourdough bread with this starter yesterday. It turned out really good. My husband loved it. I have never baked a loaf of bread in my life so this is really quite something. I am so excited that I have a live culture that will potentially last forever if I feed it and care for it. I am really happy that I purchased it. Thank you Cultures for Health for your wonderful product and service! (Posted on October 28, 2013)
So far, so good. Review by Kathy
Value
Quality
Price
I am just at the end of the activation process for my New England Sourdough Starter, and so far, so good. I have made biscuits & pancakes and am looking forward to trying my first loaf of bread this weekend. Directions were easy to follow, and everything so far has been tasty.
(Posted on November 7, 2013)
worked well, not finicky Review by TIa
Quality
Price
Value
I've tried to start my own sourdough and it was a dismal failure. This worked great. After it was started, it was quite robust. Only a few hours out of the fridge and it is bubbling away. works well for both pancakes and bread. (Posted on November 27, 2013)
Very healthy starter! Review by Jenny
Value
Quality
Price
This starter has been very active from the beginning. My previous starter was a whole grain sourdough starter and was a bit sour for my family. This starter has a more mild flavor, which is working well for regular sandwich bread. Even my picky husband is slowly switching over to sourdough. I definitely like to feed it twice a day, making sure to "dump" all but about 1/4 cup of starter to culture the next feeding of flour. I have a bowl, that I keep in my fridge to hold the "dumped" sourdough, which I use in all kinds of recipes. I am well pleased. (Posted on December 9, 2013)
Fun Review by heather
Value
Quality
Price
I love this sourdough starter. It is the gift that keeps on giving. (Posted on December 24, 2013)
Easy sourdough Review by Bonnie
Price
Value
Quality
This is an easy sourdough to activate and work with. Someone else has used the word "robust" and that seems a perfect description. It might be a mild flavor but it still does have a sourdough flavor that is very popular at our house. I thoroughly enjoy making bread with this starter. (Posted on December 26, 2013)
Great starter - Worth every penny Review by Curtis
Value
Quality
Price
I've been a little frustrated working with my homemade starter and decided to give this New England Starter a try. The first 48 hours were an act of faith but since then it has exceeded my expectations. I'm getting ready-to-bake loaves in 5 hours! This is a great product, just follow the supplied instructions and it won't let you down. (Posted on March 25, 2014)
Great Sourdough Bread Every Time! Review by Diane@Peaceful Acres Farm
Price
Value
Quality
After feeding my starter for 2 wks, I began a rigorous baking regime! I am extremely pleased with this product and would recommend it to everyone. My bread has excellent rise, crumb, crackles and sour! (Posted on September 14, 2011)

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: New England Sourdough Starter

How do you rate this product? *

  1 2 3 4 5
Price
Value
Quality


Free eBook Library Access & Weekly Newsletter


Sign up today for free access to our entire library of easy to follow eBooks on creating cultured foods at home, including Lacto-Fermentation, Kombucha, Kefir, Yogurt, Sourdough, and Cheesemaking.
  • Library of eBooks for making your own cultured foods
  • Weekly newsletter filled with tips & tricks
  • Expert advice articles, recipes, and how-to videos
  • Join 140,000+ other health-conscious readers
  • We never share your information!
first name last name email address