Small Ceramic Fermentation Weight

Price
Value
Quality
17 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

$4.99
Share: FB

Quality
5 star :
41%
( 7 )
4 star :
35%
( 6 )
3 star :
12%
( 2 )
2 star :
12%
( 2 )
Value
5 star :
41%
( 7 )
4 star :
35%
( 6 )
3 star :
12%
( 2 )
2 star :
6%
( 1 )
1 star :
6%
( 1 )
Price
5 star :
47%
( 8 )
4 star :
41%
( 7 )
3 star :
6%
( 1 )
2 star :
6%
( 1 )
Total : 17 Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 17 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
Perfect for small batch fermentation Review by Richard
Price
Value
Quality
I like to ferment several small batches of krauts, so I can make them all different, instead of one large batch. These weights are perfect to use in a wide mouth mason jar. I'd definitely recommend them. Since they are in two pieces, they are easy to add and remove from the jars. (Posted on 2/20/2014)
Love these new ceramic weights Review by Janice
Quality
Price
Value
These fit perfectly in a half-gallon mason jar. For me they work even better than the glass weights as they stay where put without shifting around. (Posted on 3/18/2014)
Helpful product for fermentation. Review by daisy
Price
Value
Quality
The small ceramic fermentation weight is a great product. It is small, but very effective. It stays in place during fermentation, and is less awkward than some of the other methods. Before I tried the ceramic weight, I used plastic bags filled with water. They were awkward and unpredictable. I could see my fermenting sauerkraut better with the ceramic weight.I want to commend CFH for their customer service and for following through on each customer. I am very happy with the service on my orders. Their service is instant and thorough. (Posted on 7/12/2014)
Just what I needed to keep vegetables under the brine Review by Bear
Quality
Price
Value
These fit beautifully inside a widemouth quart mason jar. Because of the way they fit snugly under the curve in the jar, they kept the vegetables in place and under the brine perfectly. They stayed in place and I didn't even worry about them moving because of the way they fit the jar.
My compliments on a great product. Thanks for your help and the quick shipping! KUDOS!!! (Posted on 7/25/2014)
perfect for half gallon mason jar ferments Review by erica
Quality
Price
Value
I was reluctant to purchase b/c how many people said how light they are and it is true if your looking for something to hold down a really loose ferment than this might not bbs the right thing for you but these worked great for my kraut. I used a full cabbage leaf then this on top of that. the are also perfect for carrots to keep them under the brine. I really think you can't got wrong for the price. (Posted on 7/26/2014)
Worked for fermenting cabbage and carrots Review by tad
Price
Value
Quality
I successfully fermented my first batch of veggies. Turned out well. I used the small weights in the tops of half gallon wide mouth mason jars. A few veggies did float up a bit, wish the weights were a bit heavier, but overall the fermentation was successful. The lady on the online chat and telephone conversation where I asked for advice made all the difference, they were knowledgeable. Boy was I green but I did it OK. I am getting brave and would like to get into cheese making. Thanks ladies, I will be talking to you before attempting that. (Posted on 8/27/2014)
Smaller than I expected Review by Cathy
Quality
Price
Value
Based on the review I read, I expected these to be bigger. Having tried them, they seem too small for wide-mouthed jars (quart-size). I had cabbage that floated above them, escaping from the sides or the crack, so I still had a layer of cabbage at the top that might get moldy. I love the idea and will probably use them, but I rated the quality and value a little lower because they don't seem to be doing as good of a job as I had expected. (Posted on 2/20/2014)
Small Ceramic Fermentation Weights Review by LC
Quality
Price
Value
I thought these might work based on the description but they are a little too small for half gallon wide mouth mason jars. Since they are zig zag in shape, you can fit them in the small mouthed jars. It did not cover the cabbage fully so I had to add my glass weights too.
I could fit three pieces in the half gallon jar. I will have to buy the large size to see how they will fit. (Posted on 2/28/2014)
Perfect size for wide mouth jars! Review by clmax
Value
Quality
Price
These small ceramic fermentation weights are perfect for standard wide mouth canning jars. I'm currently using them to make a small batch of sauerkraut and its doing a great job keeping the cabbage below the brine in the jar. I could see a great benefit if they were just a bit heavier to keep larger veggie ferments down easier but most of the time, these are great. (Posted on 4/17/2014)
Great! Review by CTGirl
Price
Value
Quality
I love these! I wish they were sold in a bulk value pack. I agree with others that I wish they were a little more weighty. But, I've used them for the half-gallon Ball jars and they work really well. I've not had any stuff float up - Ive used the weight to ferment kraut, beets, turnips. (Posted on 7/2/2014)

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Small Ceramic Fermentation Weight

  •  
    1 star
    2 stars
    3 stars
    4 stars
    5 stars
    Value
    Quality
    Price
  • * Required Fields


Free eBook Library Access & Weekly Newsletter


Sign up today for free access to our entire library of easy to follow eBooks on creating cultured foods at home, including Lacto-Fermentation, Kombucha, Kefir, Yogurt, Sourdough, and Cheesemaking.
  • Library of eBooks for making your own cultured foods
  • Weekly newsletter filled with tips & tricks
  • Expert advice articles, recipes, and how-to videos
  • Join 150,000+ other health-conscious readers
  • We never share your information!
first name last name email address