$3.99 Flat Rate Shipping* Click here for details

Flora Danica Mesophilic Starter Culture

Price
Value
Quality
11 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

$10.99

Product Alerts

Perishable
Perishable

Quality
5 star :
100%
( 11 )
Value
5 star :
64%
( 7 )
4 star :
27%
( 3 )
3 star :
9%
( 1 )
Price
5 star :
64%
( 7 )
4 star :
18%
( 2 )
3 star :
9%
( 1 )
2 star :
9%
( 1 )
Total : 11 Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 11 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
Delicious! Review by Jen
Price
Value
Quality
This makes a dreamy goat cheese. It's very popular around here and doesn't last at all! I highly recommend this culture for making a delicious goat cheese. Looking forward to trying it for other cheeses in the future. (Posted on 7/12/2013)
Flora Danica is my favorite fresh cheese starter for goats milk. Review by bamboola
Price
Value
Quality
I have found Ricki Carroll's book to be an indispensible resource for my cheese making efforts. I tried out many recipes for both aged and fresh cheeses. For the fresh cheeses, I used several types of chevre starters, and fromage blanc with success. In Ricki's book, she has a "Note:" that says "Flora Danica is an excellent fresh goat cheese starter for any of the soft cheese recipes...". So I tried out the Flora Danica - and subsequently tossed out all of my other soft cheese starters! Why would I want to spend time and milk making something less tasty than the Flora Danica?? It is amazingly delicious! (Posted on 11/28/2013)
PERFECT Sour Cream Review by SprCch
Price
Value
Quality
These cultures made the perfect sour cream. I bought this particular product because I'm able to make so many different things with it. My first was sour cream. Quick and easy and got 4 pint jars from 1 quart of whipping cream. I added an 1/8 teaspoon of culture and then 1/8 teaspoon of sea salt when complete. Can't wait to try some other things with this product! :) (Posted on 6/12/2014)
good stuff! Review by WendP
Value
Quality
Price
I made my first feta a couple of weeks ago. Holy smokes, it's good!
I'm looking forward to making more kinds of cultured dairy products with it. (Posted on 9/1/2014)
Great product Review by mimiwood1
Value
Quality
Price
A great product at a terrific price! The quality is the same as the other outstanding products I purchased from Cultures for Health. (Posted on 11/28/2014)
we love it Review by GIN
Quality
Price
Value
I used Flora Danica to make sour cream! We love it and its delish!
Only 1/8 teaspoon on quart of cream and 24 hrs later we have homemade sour cream – great product!!
(Posted on 1/28/2015)
Great for cream cheese Review by SeaCheese
Quality
Price
Value
I've been using this culture to make my cream cheese for the last 9 months. The culture seems very dependable when used per the recipe here, although I often extend the incubation to 24 hours. I use 3/4 whole milk and 1/4 cream and the result is a pleasantly mild cream cheese with a light acidity and slightly buttery flavor. Indispensable, I never buy cream cheese anymore. (Posted on 2/22/2015)
Cultured butter. Review by Anna
Price
Value
Quality
So far I've only used it for cultured butter. Very good. (Posted on 7/16/2014)
Amazing stuff! Review by Tina
Value
Quality
Price
Thanks for making this available,I do wish you would send instructions with it and it did not arrive in a cold insulated package even though it was at the the hieght of a hot summer. I was afraid it could be killed but those little grains are amazing! I put 1/8 th teaspoon into 2 quarts of raw cream in a large glass bowl,stir lightly several hours later then each time I peek under the cloth I can tell it is cultering my cream into a thick,flavorful future butter. After 24 hours of counter cultering I put it into the fridge for a good chilling then proceed to make butter in the blender. YUM!

Note from CFH: Flora Danica is used to culture a variety of different products. Recipes are available on our website. (Posted on 9/21/2014)
Very good! Review by Margaret
Price
Value
Quality
This is a very good culture. thanks...:) (Posted on 3/25/2014)

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Flora Danica Mesophilic Starter Culture

  •  
    1 star
    2 stars
    3 stars
    4 stars
    5 stars
    Quality
    Price
    Value
  • * Required Fields


Free eBook Library Access & Weekly Newsletter


Sign up today for free access to our entire library of easy to follow eBooks on creating cultured foods at home, including Lacto-Fermentation, Kombucha, Kefir, Yogurt, Sourdough, and Cheesemaking.
  • Library of eBooks for making your own cultured foods
  • Weekly newsletter filled with tips & tricks
  • Expert advice articles, recipes, and how-to videos
  • Join 180,000+ other health-conscious readers
  • We never share your information!
first name last name email address