Flora Danica Mesophilic Starter Culture

Price
Value
Quality
8 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

$10.99

Product Alerts

Perishable  
Share: FB

Quality
5 star :
100%
( 8 )
Value
5 star :
50%
( 4 )
4 star :
38%
( 3 )
3 star :
13%
( 1 )
Price
5 star :
50%
( 4 )
4 star :
25%
( 2 )
3 star :
13%
( 1 )
2 star :
13%
( 1 )
Total : 8 Reviews

8 Item(s)

per page
Delicious! Review by Jen
Price
Value
Quality
This makes a dreamy goat cheese. It's very popular around here and doesn't last at all! I highly recommend this culture for making a delicious goat cheese. Looking forward to trying it for other cheeses in the future. (Posted on 7/12/2013)
Flora Danica is my favorite fresh cheese starter for goats milk. Review by bamboola
Price
Value
Quality
I have found Ricki Carroll's book to be an indispensible resource for my cheese making efforts. I tried out many recipes for both aged and fresh cheeses. For the fresh cheeses, I used several types of chevre starters, and fromage blanc with success. In Ricki's book, she has a "Note:" that says "Flora Danica is an excellent fresh goat cheese starter for any of the soft cheese recipes...". So I tried out the Flora Danica - and subsequently tossed out all of my other soft cheese starters! Why would I want to spend time and milk making something less tasty than the Flora Danica?? It is amazingly delicious! (Posted on 11/28/2013)
PERFECT Sour Cream Review by SprCch
Price
Value
Quality
These cultures made the perfect sour cream. I bought this particular product because I'm able to make so many different things with it. My first was sour cream. Quick and easy and got 4 pint jars from 1 quart of whipping cream. I added an 1/8 teaspoon of culture and then 1/8 teaspoon of sea salt when complete. Can't wait to try some other things with this product! :) (Posted on 6/12/2014)
good stuff! Review by WendP
Value
Quality
Price
I made my first feta a couple of weeks ago. Holy smokes, it's good!
I'm looking forward to making more kinds of cultured dairy products with it. (Posted on 9/1/2014)
Cultured butter. Review by Anna
Price
Value
Quality
So far I've only used it for cultured butter. Very good. (Posted on 7/16/2014)
Amazing stuff! Review by Tina
Value
Quality
Price
Thanks for making this available,I do wish you would send instructions with it and it did not arrive in a cold insulated package even though it was at the the hieght of a hot summer. I was afraid it could be killed but those little grains are amazing! I put 1/8 th teaspoon into 2 quarts of raw cream in a large glass bowl,stir lightly several hours later then each time I peek under the cloth I can tell it is cultering my cream into a thick,flavorful future butter. After 24 hours of counter cultering I put it into the fridge for a good chilling then proceed to make butter in the blender. YUM!

Note from CFH: Flora Danica is used to culture a variety of different products. Recipes are available on our website. (Posted on 9/21/2014)
Very good! Review by Margaret
Price
Value
Quality
This is a very good culture. thanks...:) (Posted on 3/25/2014)
Sweet mother of all that is holy this is good stuff Review by Katrina
Price
Value
Quality
Well it is the best in our goats' cheese. We mix it and buttermilk and it doesn't last at all! No time to finish typing must go eat goat cheese!!!
(Posted on 4/18/2013)

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Flora Danica Mesophilic Starter Culture

  •  
    1 star
    2 stars
    3 stars
    4 stars
    5 stars
    Value
    Quality
    Price
  • * Required Fields


Free eBook Library Access & Weekly Newsletter


Sign up today for free access to our entire library of easy to follow eBooks on creating cultured foods at home, including Lacto-Fermentation, Kombucha, Kefir, Yogurt, Sourdough, and Cheesemaking.
  • Library of eBooks for making your own cultured foods
  • Weekly newsletter filled with tips & tricks
  • Expert advice articles, recipes, and how-to videos
  • Join 150,000+ other health-conscious readers
  • We never share your information!
first name last name email address