Crème Fraiche Starter Culture

Price
Value
Quality
11 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

$5.99

Quality
5 star :
82%
( 9 )
4 star :
9%
( 1 )
1 star :
9%
( 1 )
Value
5 star :
45%
( 5 )
4 star :
45%
( 5 )
1 star :
9%
( 1 )
Price
5 star :
73%
( 8 )
4 star :
18%
( 2 )
2 star :
9%
( 1 )
Total : 11 Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 11 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
Delicious Review by Buffy
Value
Quality
Price
This culture makes delicious creme fraiche. I used organic half and half that I warmed on the stove. Very worth it. It also lasts longer than 10 days in the refrigerator. (Posted on 9/25/2014)
Very mild sourness and somewhat thick. It is delicious and I love that I am taking in probiotics! Review by Mpearl
Value
Quality
Price
I just used my last packet and am going to order another set. When it gets to the correct temperature (it doesn't take long) I sprinkle the contents of the little foil package on top, give it a quick stir and leave it in the kitchen overnight and next morning its ready. It goes well with borscht and over scones instead of butter and with a little jam. Love it! (Posted on 10/11/2014)
Love this product Review by Debra
Value
Quality
Price
I have used and loved this product for years -- whole family loves it! (Posted on 12/7/2014)
Best Creme Fraiche I've ever tasted Review by Maria
Quality
Price
Value
This culture worked beautifully--I used raw Jersey cream to make it, and it set up thick and silky. A light, mildly tangy flavor, just enough to thrill the tongue without being sharply sour. I have used it to dollop on hot soups and chili and as a dessert topping for fresh, warm, homemade applesauce. Really, it's so luscious I could eat it on almost anything! It lasts a long time in the refrigerator. Wish it would re-culture from the Creme Fraiche, but I will order more packets of culture just to have on hand. (Posted on 2/1/2015)
Makes wonderful creme fraiche Review by Helgarde
Value
Quality
Price
I loved the results of using this starter on locally produced heavy cream from grass-fed cows. The creme fraiche that it made tasted like the best sour cream ever, and cooking with it is a dream--it is more stable than commercial sour cream and it has a delicately tangy flavor that is delicious as a topping or in sauces.

I do wish I could use this to serially culture creme fraiche--but I suppose I will get over it. That's why I gave it lower marks on value.

What is really nice, though, is once creme fraiche has been made--you can make cultured butter like I did today and it is to die for. And so much less expensive than store bought cultured butter.... (Posted on 8/23/2012)
nice flavor Review by Tia
Value
Quality
Price
nice subtle flavor. It can be used to make desserts or like a salsa mixture. Mine had to incubate a little longer than the directions say. Probably a little colder in my kitchen. After I warmed up the area a bit by turning on the stove, it set great. (Posted on 11/27/2013)
Love it! Review by ania
Value
Quality
Price
This sour cream is just awesome. It is great for cooking. We eat a lot of soups and it adds so much flavor.
I did not know that sour cream can be so good. I highly recommend it (Posted on 12/23/2013)
Yum yum Review by Tammy
Quality
Price
Value
I used heavy whipping cream and it made a most delicious crème fraiche. Very easy to make. I cultured it for 24 hours waiting for it to thicken. It didn't get very thick but after it was refrigerated it got thicker and turned out great. Yummy. (Posted on 8/7/2014)
Very good but ... Review by SteveF
Price
Value
Quality
I love Creme Fraiche. I used to make it from cultured buttermilk and half-and-half, but that doesn't seem to work with the buttermilk I can buy.

The problem with making creme fraiche is that only Ultra-Pasteurized cream and half-and-half are sold in stores.

This culture seems excellent, but the UP cream, etc. don't work very well. I'm going to try adding a cup of non-fat dry milk to the mix with the next batch to get a creamier more custard-like product. I imagine that will make all the difference.
(Posted on 5/22/2014)
Very good Review by TimB
Value
Quality
Price
I'm new to cultured foods, it was very straight forward and made a delicious product. I did use a thermometer and watched it closely to get it started at the right temp. (Posted on 1/19/2015)

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Crème Fraiche Starter Culture

  •  
    1 star
    2 stars
    3 stars
    4 stars
    5 stars
    Quality
    Price
    Value
  • * Required Fields


Free eBook Library Access & Weekly Newsletter


Sign up today for free access to our entire library of easy to follow eBooks on creating cultured foods at home, including Lacto-Fermentation, Kombucha, Kefir, Yogurt, Sourdough, and Cheesemaking.
  • Library of eBooks for making your own cultured foods
  • Weekly newsletter filled with tips & tricks
  • Expert advice articles, recipes, and how-to videos
  • Join 180,000+ other health-conscious readers
  • We never share your information!
first name last name email address