Loading..

Product was successfully added to your shopping cart.

5

Product was successfully added to your comparison list.

Crème Fraiche Starter Culture

SKU: 6790
Quality
Price
Value
19 Review(s)
Creme Fraiche Starter Culture
$6.99

Availability: In stock

You Can Do This
When you buy this product you get FREE ACCESS to: Hundreds of how-to articles and recipes, instructional videos and even our FREE eBook library.
Quality
5 star :
74%
( 14 )
4 star :
11%
( 2 )
3 star :
5%
( 1 )
1 star :
11%
( 2 )
Value
5 star :
53%
( 10 )
4 star :
26%
( 5 )
3 star :
11%
( 2 )
1 star :
11%
( 2 )
Price
5 star :
58%
( 11 )
4 star :
21%
( 4 )
3 star :
11%
( 2 )
2 star :
5%
( 1 )
1 star :
5%
( 1 )
Total : 19 Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 19 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
Delicious Review by Buffy
Value
Quality
Price
This culture makes delicious creme fraiche. I used organic half and half that I warmed on the stove. Very worth it. It also lasts longer than 10 days in the refrigerator. (Posted on 9/25/2014)
Very mild sourness and somewhat thick. It is delicious and I love that I am taking in probiotics! Review by Mpearl
Value
Quality
Price
I just used my last packet and am going to order another set. When it gets to the correct temperature (it doesn't take long) I sprinkle the contents of the little foil package on top, give it a quick stir and leave it in the kitchen overnight and next morning its ready. It goes well with borscht and over scones instead of butter and with a little jam. Love it! (Posted on 10/11/2014)
Love this product Review by Debra
Value
Quality
Price
I have used and loved this product for years -- whole family loves it! (Posted on 12/7/2014)
Best Creme Fraiche I've ever tasted Review by Maria
Quality
Price
Value
This culture worked beautifully--I used raw Jersey cream to make it, and it set up thick and silky. A light, mildly tangy flavor, just enough to thrill the tongue without being sharply sour. I have used it to dollop on hot soups and chili and as a dessert topping for fresh, warm, homemade applesauce. Really, it's so luscious I could eat it on almost anything! It lasts a long time in the refrigerator. Wish it would re-culture from the Creme Fraiche, but I will order more packets of culture just to have on hand. (Posted on 2/1/2015)
Excellent results, nicely thick consistency Review by Kim
Quality
Price
Value
This turned out thicker than expected, which was neat. It firmed up quite a bit in the fridge. I used raw cream and some half and half, and this made a beautiful, smooth, light yellow (because of our milk quality), cream. It was less sour than I expected, but I'd never had creme fraiche before.

We had this as a dessert cream, sweetened a bit and with vanilla and lemon zest added, served over frozen raspberries. Fantastic! (Posted on 9/10/2015)
Excellent creme fraiche Review by LeGriz
Quality
Price
Value
I have made creme fraiche with a few other cultures and this is by far the best. It thickens relatively quickly and is the least "sour" tasting - it tastes almost buttery. Its better than what I can get already made in the store. I put it in the oven with the light bulb on to thicken it and that works great. (Posted on 12/15/2016)
I made delicious mistake Review by kimberly
Quality
Price
Value
I bought to make creme Fraiche, bought a half gallon of raw milk from Old Ford Farm, one of the few places to legally purchase it in NY.

The weather was unseasonably cold so I used a seedling mat, I panicked when I saw, packaged up, brought to show the owner of the farm, Becky.

She told me not to panic, told me that I made cheese, so I had to season it. I was going to leave it for her to see if salvageable, and she said that I had raw fermented dairy, to keep it.

It took about 3 weeks to have seasoning perfect but after 3 months is still good.

May not have done what I expected since I over heated a bit but was a great surprise.

I also pickled onions with the same starter and am going to keep trying new things.

I haven't tried creame Fraiche again yet, but I will.

Awesome product (Posted on 7/3/2017)
Makes wonderful creme fraiche Review by Helgarde
Value
Quality
Price
I loved the results of using this starter on locally produced heavy cream from grass-fed cows. The creme fraiche that it made tasted like the best sour cream ever, and cooking with it is a dream--it is more stable than commercial sour cream and it has a delicately tangy flavor that is delicious as a topping or in sauces.

I do wish I could use this to serially culture creme fraiche--but I suppose I will get over it. That's why I gave it lower marks on value.

What is really nice, though, is once creme fraiche has been made--you can make cultured butter like I did today and it is to die for. And so much less expensive than store bought cultured butter.... (Posted on 8/23/2012)
nice flavor Review by Tia
Value
Quality
Price
nice subtle flavor. It can be used to make desserts or like a salsa mixture. Mine had to incubate a little longer than the directions say. Probably a little colder in my kitchen. After I warmed up the area a bit by turning on the stove, it set great. (Posted on 11/27/2013)
Love it! Review by ania
Value
Quality
Price
This sour cream is just awesome. It is great for cooking. We eat a lot of soups and it adds so much flavor.
I did not know that sour cream can be so good. I highly recommend it (Posted on 12/23/2013)

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Crème Fraiche Starter Culture

  •  
    1 star
    2 stars
    3 stars
    4 stars
    5 stars
    Quality
    Price
    Value
  • * Required Fields