Buttermilk & Sour Cream Direct Set Starter Culture

Price
Value
Quality
13 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

$9.99
Quality
5 star :
100%
( 13 )
Value
5 star :
85%
( 11 )
4 star :
15%
( 2 )
Price
5 star :
77%
( 10 )
4 star :
23%
( 3 )
Total : 13 Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 13 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
I'm never buying sour cream from the store again! Review by Ama
Quality
Value
Price
This is the easiest thing in the world to make, and the results are delicious. I heat up the milk and cool it down, stir in the starter, and let it sit in a thermos insulator for 18 to 24 hours. Thick, rich, tasty sour cream for less than half what I pay for it in the store. (Posted on April 16, 2012)
The buttermilk & Sour Cream Direct Set Starter Culture worked very good Review by Krishnan
Quality
Value
Price
We were highly satisfied with the taste of buttermilk made with your direct starter kit. Big Fans now. Will be re-ordering soon. (Posted on January 13, 2013)
I love this starter! Review by Trudi
Quality
Price
Value
Oh. My. Goodness. The buttermilk and sour cream made with this starter are absolutely delicious! We use raw milk, so it's even easier - just bring the milk to 77 degrees (it literally takes only 2-3 minutes), stir in the starter and that's it. I put it in a half gallon mason jar covered with cheesecloth, let it sit on the counter for the 16-18 hours, and when done pop put a lid on it and put it in the fridge. HIGHLY recommend!! (Posted on August 31, 2013)
Never buy store bought again! Review by Honeytiger
Quality
Value
Price
The only thing that may make this even more delicious is raw milk. But, since it is illegal to sell raw milk in Virginia, and we can't have cows or goats, I have to use organic store milk. That doesn't make the sour cream any less glorious! Once you taste home fermented, you'll never go back. AND, if you take care of your sour cream, you can keep it going . (Posted on November 16, 2013)
Awesome sour cream! Review by running duck
Quality
Value
Price
This made the BEST sour cream I've ever had. I thought the stuff from the store was good until we made this!!! So creamy and tangy :) Super easy to make too, we will never buy it from the store again. (Posted on November 25, 2013)
Excellent buttermilk Review by Freebron
Price
Value
Quality
I made buttermilk beginning with very fresh raw whole milk. After following the instructions thoroughly I had the best tasting buttermilk ever. I was able to enjoy a small glass by itself and made excellent waffles with it too. (Posted on December 21, 2013)
Nice and Easy Review by bjtmoc
Price
Value
Quality
This product was really easy to use. I followed the instructions and bam - sour cream! It doesn't taste exactly like store-bought sour cream, but that's not a bad thing. It tasted great! Will definitely order again. (Posted on February 4, 2014)
Great product! Review by Karen
Quality
Price
Value
I made both sour cream and buttermilk from this starter and both are fabulous! I have used buttermilk for years in pancakes, biscuits, etc but the results from the homemade are beyond expectation! I make the sour cream with light cream and buttermilk, and the buttermilk with non-fat milk and the last buttermilk. Easy to make and perpetuate, and the results are beyond belief! (Posted on March 19, 2014)
Excellent! Review by PaulR
Price
Value
Quality
Most delicious buttermilk I have ever tasted! Sour cream was started from the buttermilk, and it smells great so far. Can hardly wait to try it with raw milk and cream. (Posted on March 29, 2014)
Excellent quality, taste, performance, and easy to make Review by Candlefoot
Value
Quality
Price
I used the one-time use starter packet with organic whole milk (from Costco). The end product is delicious and very thick. The cost is one-half of purchased organic buttermilk, and the homemade one tastes better. I cultured mine in the oven with the light on. My end product was thick like sour cream (my oven read 80 degrees), because when I went to bed I couldn't open oven door to adjust temp. I used some on baked potato with chives. I made herb/Romano muffins and my husband said 2nd batch raised better, more moist, and more flavorful (usually he doesn't notice differences). Delicious, thick, flavorful. Can't wait to try it in pancakes, and cornbread. (I made four quarts from one packet.) (Posted on July 28, 2014)

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Buttermilk & Sour Cream Direct Set Starter Culture

How do you rate this product? *

  1 2 3 4 5
Price
Value
Quality


Free eBook Library Access & Weekly Newsletter


Sign up today for free access to our entire library of easy to follow eBooks on creating cultured foods at home, including Lacto-Fermentation, Kombucha, Kefir, Yogurt, Sourdough, and Cheesemaking.
  • Library of eBooks for making your own cultured foods
  • Weekly newsletter filled with tips & tricks
  • Expert advice articles, recipes, and how-to videos
  • Join 150,000+ other health-conscious readers
  • We never share your information!
first name last name email address