Bulgarian Yogurt Starter

Quality
Price
Value
41 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

$12.99
Quality
5 star :
85%
( 35 )
4 star :
5%
( 2 )
3 star :
5%
( 2 )
2 star :
5%
( 2 )
Value
5 star :
80%
( 33 )
4 star :
7%
( 3 )
3 star :
7%
( 3 )
2 star :
5%
( 2 )
Price
5 star :
56%
( 23 )
4 star :
29%
( 12 )
3 star :
10%
( 4 )
2 star :
5%
( 2 )
Total : 41 Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 41 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
Awesome Yogurt Review by Mama_Z
Price
Value
Quality
I love this yogurt starter. My yogurt turned out so good, just like back home in Bulgaria. I can't believe I am making my own yogurt, always wanted to, and finally tried it. First try didn't work because the temperature was way too hot, but customer service rep. was so helpful tried it again with the second half of the starter kit and voila. Awesome thick creamy yogurt (Posted on October 2, 2011)
Happy camper! Review by Laura
Price
Value
Quality
This was my first attempt at making yogurt. The price is great for making unlimited batches of yogurt, they also include an extra starter just in case. I used the Euro cuisine and filled 2 1/2 jars with the starter culture. It took 10 hours for the yogurt to set up (so make sure you hang in there!), however the next batch i made only took about 6. Im very happy with this and can't wait to make more. (Posted on December 13, 2012)
Like every other Cultures for Health product-this wonderful! Review by Beth
Price
Value
Quality
Great product with over-the-top explaination of use, yet understandable to the lay person. The culture worked perfectly (even though I had my dehydrator set too high initially) and set up very nicely. I like the consistency of the yogurt better than using storebought as a starter & perpetuating the mother culture each week is not difficult. I make raw milk yogurt only heating to 110 degrees & have to strain to thicken it, but it's smooth, creamy & full or probiotics! (Posted on January 10, 2013)
Good quality culture. Review by Orwell
Price
Value
Quality
After the initial activation step, I've been re-culturing the starter for about 2 years now. I still have the second half of the original starter that i bought though I'm not too sure if that's still good. In the beginning I was somewhat skeptical regarding how long the re-culturing process would last but 2 years later and it's still going strong.

I usually make 2 quarts every 4-5 days using skim milk. While its true that whole milk and 2% make a thicker/creamier yogurt.

To get thick yogurt using skim milk:

1)Stir in 1 Tbls of gelatin prior to initial heating. Make sure it is thoroughly dissolved. **i set aside about 6 oz WITH OUT gelatin which i culture separately in a small jar. this is what i use as my starter next time**

2)Cool and incubate as you normally would.

3)After 6 hours (that;s how long its always taken me @ 110F) stir in sweetener/flavoring.

4)Since skim milk lacks fat, after mixing the yogurt looks slightly grainy and not fully emulsified. I use a Immersion blender to completely homogenize the yogurt which also fully mixes the sweetener.

5)It will look runny but it fully firms up in the fridge with the aid of the gelatin.

I've never once run into a problem with this method. The addition of the gelatin doesn't make it into solid jello mass but simply helps it re-coagulate. You don't taste the gelatin either.

I normally don't write review and certainly not ones as long and wordy as this one has turned out to be. But i felt that 2 years of successfully culturing my own yogurt from that first initial activation was worthy of a good review. (Posted on March 20, 2013)
love this starter Review by Simone
Price
Value
Quality
After many attempts to get this yogurt right, I finally made the perfect yogurt. I went through 8 to 10 litres of whole pasturized organic milk, but found the fat would float to the top and the yogurt beneath was very grainy. I couldn't understand why it was not the smooth creamy yogurt described on the website. Then I decided to try HOMOGENIZED whole pasturized organic milk and it worked! I am now making beautiful smooth creamy white yogurt! The girls on the chat line where so kind and helpful, but I think stumped as to why my yogurt was turning out the way I was describing. So I hope that anyone out there who is having the same difficulties doesn't give up, give homogenized milk a try. This starter makes delicious yogurt! (Posted on May 17, 2013)
The product is great. Review by Ruth
Quality
Price
Value
The Bulgarian started worked perfectly on my first try, though it did take about 12 hours to set the first time. I'm now enjoying very tasteful, mild yogurt. Normally the yogurt is set in 6 hours using the Euro Cuisine yogurt maker. Can't imagine going back to the store-bought product. (Posted on July 18, 2013)
Cannot ask for better Review by terrijo
Price
Value
Quality
I've been using this culture for 6 months and cannot ask for better. The yogurt has a somewhat mild flavor and cultures reliably. Love it! (Posted on November 21, 2013)
Worked the first time Review by toniatk
Quality
Price
Value
I decided to try this starter so that I would not have the added expense, per batch, of a packet of Cultures for Health "traditional flavor yogurt starter," which is what I have used for years. I just made my first batch with the Bulgarian starter (after activating the starter, of course). I used homogenized full fat milk from our local dairy. It set up well in my yogurt maker and tastes fresh and delicious. It is quite thick, but we still prefer to strain it. The strained out whey goes into my husband's next batch of bread. The yogurt was a bit lumpy compared to my previous yogurt results, but after straining it I beat it with a spoon and it is now nice and smooth. (Posted on November 24, 2013)
Easy and delicious! Review by beckmom
Quality
Price
Value
Have been using this starter in the Euro Cuisine yogurt maker with 3 cups whole milk and 1 cup cream. Yummy, mild yogurt. First batch took 8 hours to set; subsequent batches firm up in 5-6 hours. Instructions are easy to follow. (Posted on December 1, 2013)
Really good homemade yogurt Review by Beth
Value
Quality
Price
I have been making homemade yogurt off and on for a couple of years and this Bulgarian yogurt starter has been easy to use and dependable, and tastes great. I have tried store bought yogurt as a starter and it eventually stops culturing. I strain my yogurt through a chinois to make a thicker Greek style yogurt and use in my daily smoothies or eat with fruit and honey. I use full fat, non-homogenized milk (raw when I have it). I do heat the milk to denature proteins and incubate in a bread proofing box. (Posted on December 1, 2013)

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Bulgarian Yogurt Starter

How do you rate this product? *

  1 2 3 4 5
Quality
Price
Value


Free eBook Library Access & Weekly Newsletter


Sign up today for free access to our entire library of easy to follow eBooks on creating cultured foods at home, including Lacto-Fermentation, Kombucha, Kefir, Yogurt, Sourdough, and Cheesemaking.
  • Library of eBooks for making your own cultured foods
  • Weekly newsletter filled with tips & tricks
  • Expert advice articles, recipes, and how-to videos
  • Join 140,000+ other health-conscious readers
  • We never share your information!
first name last name email address