Loading..

Product was successfully added to your shopping cart.

5

Product was successfully added to your comparison list.

Tempeh Starter Culture

SKU: 6701
Price
Value
Quality
23 Review(s)
Tempeh Soy Starter Culture
$7.99

Availability: In stock

You Can Do This
When you buy this product you get FREE ACCESS to: Hundreds of how-to articles and recipes, instructional videos and even our FREE eBook library.
Quality
5 star :
100%
( 23 )
Value
5 star :
87%
( 20 )
4 star :
4%
( 1 )
3 star :
4%
( 1 )
2 star :
4%
( 1 )
Price
5 star :
43%
( 10 )
4 star :
30%
( 7 )
3 star :
13%
( 3 )
2 star :
4%
( 1 )
1 star :
9%
( 2 )
Total : 23 Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 23 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
excellent Review by Florence
Value
Quality
Price
I have used it yesterday for the 2nd time and the tempeh came out beautiful. I will definitely buy from them again. I also bought the yogurt starter which is also excellent. Cultures for Health is very consistent and trustworthy. (Posted on 11/11/2012)
Fun and tasty Review by LydEllison
Price
Value
Quality
Very pleased with this culture. I've made two batches, first chickpea and the second split pea. Soy beans are definitely not required for good results as some guidelines say. I have also only used one of the four starter packets supplied as I had great success collecting spores from the fist batch with water in order to make it the second time. The chickpea tempeh was especially yummy! (Posted on 1/17/2013)
Excellent Review by RootsEatery
Value
Quality
Price
This was my first time making Tempeh and it came out perfect every time. I made four batches: Chickpea, Chickpea + Red Rice, ALL BLACK-Bean/quinoa/lentil/wild rice, then Chickpea again which is most excellent!
After net research, I was expecting failure but have had none yet. I recommend this as an inexpensive and relatively easy way to make tempeh that is so superior to anything I have ever purchased in a store. Thank You Cultures for Health! (Posted on 6/5/2013)
Very pleased Review by Nancy
Price
Value
Quality
This was my first time making tempeh and it turned out great. It is a real value over store-bought and the fresh tempeh is much more delicious. Since then I've made several batches and they all turned out beautifully. Removing the skins from the soybeans was time consuming at first, but I soon perfected my technique. I have now made batches with brown rice and quinoa added to soy. Also tried black-eyed peas and black beans, roughly chopping instead of skinning. I learned that the beans need to be cooked but firm. I prepared the finished black bean version with chipotle and used it in tacos.

(Posted on 1/24/2014)
Easy, successful, great tasting Review by Nimbus4
Value
Quality
Price
Used a cooler filled with warm water and aquarium heater to keep batch warm and moist while fermenting. Worked like a charm the first time. Starter was very effective. Created a tasty marinade and stored tempeh in it. I doubled the batch and had enough for friends. Recommend highly. (Posted on 4/23/2014)
It works. Review by Bob
Quality
Price
Value
We have purchased this product 3 or 4 times over the past year. It makes great tempeh. It arrives in a timely manner and it is never back ordered. (Posted on 7/15/2014)
Easier than expected Review by Patrick
Price
Value
Quality
The tempeh starter worked great in my first two batches. I used red and white beans for my second batch - nice. Look forward to making more!

Product was priced well and shipped quickly. I'll be back for more soon! (Posted on 7/21/2014)
Worked great Review by Heidi
Value
Quality
Price
After reading about making tempeh I was inspired but nervous because it sounds so much more complicated than yogurt or sauerkraut. My first batch using this starter turned out just fine, even though I made a few mistakes. It was not nearly as fussy as I feared! (Posted on 10/1/2014)
easer than I thought Review by Peg
Quality
Price
Value
My first time eating or for that matter, making Tempeh. I had no problems following the directions. The end product was great. I have been using all soy beans so far as we have easy access to them around here. The starter was shipped fast and arrived in good condition. I will purchase again. (Posted on 3/22/2015)
Very good product Review by Gordy
Price
Value
Quality
I basically agree with all the above reviews...first time making tempeh....it is a 24-36 hrs process and the product is far superior to store bought. Made soy, brown rice, toasted sesame seed for first product and just made garbanzo bean, rice, and sesame seed the second time... (Posted on 12/22/2015)

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Tempeh Starter Culture

  •  
    1 star
    2 stars
    3 stars
    4 stars
    5 stars
    Price
    Value
    Quality
  • * Required Fields