Tempeh Starter

Value
Quality
Price
11 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

$5.99
Quality
5 star :
100%
( 11 )
Value
5 star :
82%
( 9 )
3 star :
9%
( 1 )
2 star :
9%
( 1 )
Price
5 star :
36%
( 4 )
4 star :
27%
( 3 )
3 star :
9%
( 1 )
2 star :
9%
( 1 )
1 star :
18%
( 2 )
Total : 11 Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 11 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
excellent Review by Florence
Value
Quality
Price
I have used it yesterday for the 2nd time and the tempeh came out beautiful. I will definitely buy from them again. I also bought the yogurt starter which is also excellent. Cultures for Health is very consistent and trustworthy. (Posted on November 11, 2012)
Fun and tasty Review by LydEllison
Price
Value
Quality
Very pleased with this culture. I've made two batches, first chickpea and the second split pea. Soy beans are definitely not required for good results as some guidelines say. I have also only used one of the four starter packets supplied as I had great success collecting spores from the fist batch with water in order to make it the second time. The chickpea tempeh was especially yummy! (Posted on January 17, 2013)
Excellent Review by RootsEatery
Value
Quality
Price
This was my first time making Tempeh and it came out perfect every time. I made four batches: Chickpea, Chickpea + Red Rice, ALL BLACK-Bean/quinoa/lentil/wild rice, then Chickpea again which is most excellent!
After net research, I was expecting failure but have had none yet. I recommend this as an inexpensive and relatively easy way to make tempeh that is so superior to anything I have ever purchased in a store. Thank You Cultures for Health! (Posted on June 5, 2013)
Very pleased Review by Nancy
Price
Value
Quality
This was my first time making tempeh and it turned out great. It is a real value over store-bought and the fresh tempeh is much more delicious. Since then I've made several batches and they all turned out beautifully. Removing the skins from the soybeans was time consuming at first, but I soon perfected my technique. I have now made batches with brown rice and quinoa added to soy. Also tried black-eyed peas and black beans, roughly chopping instead of skinning. I learned that the beans need to be cooked but firm. I prepared the finished black bean version with chipotle and used it in tacos.

(Posted on January 25, 2014)
Success Review by Kathie
Price
Value
Quality
I made tempeh for the first time using this product and it turned out great. The culture was even and white. Thank you for a having a high quality product. (Posted on October 30, 2013)
Excellent results Review by Amy
Quality
Price
Value
The tempeh starter got here much quicker than I expected and worked extremely well. I didn't think that little amount would actually go as far as it did, but I used two full cups of northern white beans and it worked fine for one packet. I gave some of it away and my friend who is vegan said it's the best tempeh she ever had. The only suggestion I would make is sell some in a larger bulk size for people who are making bigger quantities. The directions were also excellent. (Posted on January 15, 2014)
Great Product Review by Haiqing
Price
Value
Quality
The product is great! You can never ruin your soybeans if you follow the instructions. My friend said my homemade tempeh is way more delicious than a market tempeh. (Posted on March 2, 2014)
Good product but expensive Review by JCB
Price
Value
Quality
It's the first time I ever made Tempeh and it came out perfect! Too bad that it is quite expensive for me. (Posted on March 13, 2014)
Takes a bit longer but works out fine Review by grumps
Price
Value
Quality
Used two packets of starter and ended up with 3.125 lbs of good tempeh (Posted on April 4, 2013)
Very good quality starter.... Review by Vira
Price
Value
Quality
The result of tempeh from using this starter was very good! But the price of the starter is quite expensive. (Posted on July 4, 2013)

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Tempeh Starter

How do you rate this product? *

  1 2 3 4 5
Value
Quality
Price


Free eBook Library Access & Weekly Newsletter


Sign up today for free access to our entire library of easy to follow eBooks on creating cultured foods at home, including Lacto-Fermentation, Kombucha, Kefir, Yogurt, Sourdough, and Cheesemaking.
  • Library of eBooks for making your own cultured foods
  • Weekly newsletter filled with tips & tricks
  • Expert advice articles, recipes, and how-to videos
  • Join 140,000+ other health-conscious readers
  • We never share your information!
first name last name email address