Brown Rice Sourdough Starter

Quality
Price
Value
8 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

$12.99
Quality
5 star :
75%
( 6 )
4 star :
13%
( 1 )
2 star :
13%
( 1 )
Value
5 star :
50%
( 4 )
4 star :
25%
( 2 )
3 star :
13%
( 1 )
2 star :
13%
( 1 )
Price
5 star :
50%
( 4 )
4 star :
13%
( 1 )
3 star :
25%
( 2 )
2 star :
13%
( 1 )
Total : 8 Reviews

8 Item(s)

per page
Very good Review by Sue
Value
Quality
Price
I do not know much about sourdough starters, I tried to make my own but it didn't work, this did. I have had it going for a few weeks now. We have made pancakes, waffles, crepes with the extra sourdough and 2 batches of bread with the starter. The bread was pretty flat because it was gluten free, it tasted good though. I used superfine brown rice flour to feed it, then ran out and have used other flours, it is still doing well. (Posted on December 10, 2013)
very pleased with results Review by mg
Quality
Price
Value
Very pleased with results. Would order this again and will recommend it to others. (Posted on February 21, 2014)
Great product Review by nana
Price
Value
Quality
My brown rice culture for sour dough is working very well. I am pleased with the taste, as well as how quickly the culture was ready to use. (Posted on February 23, 2014)
Tastes great! Review by Devon
Price
Value
Quality
It does require more feeding than traditional starter, but I love sourdough pancakes, so it's no big deal to me! Very tasty for being gluten-free, and I've been able to make decent bread with it as well. Due to food allergies, I have to avoid dairy, gluten, egg, soy, and other ingredients, so this brown rice starter has been a godsend for being able to enjoy gluten-free goodies. (Posted on May 21, 2014)
Great product Review by gomiche
Price
Value
Quality
I live at 9000 ft in cold and started my sourdough culture from the packet, had my first loaf of bread in 7 days. I did have to work with gluten free recipes a few times, but finally got one that worked. Easy to use and maintain, makes great bread. I would recommend. (Posted on April 27, 2014)
Great bread, but too time consuming. Review by Erica
Price
Value
Quality
Lovely product...If you want another pet! I had to feed the starter every 4 hours for 3 days. Then have the combined flours/ingredients rise for 4 hours. That is a lot of time. Plus, when it is stored in the fridge before using it again, it has to be "awakened" which also takes several feedings of flour, over a couple days.

The resulting bread was pretty good, but I used up the starter and decided to call it a "fun experiment".

The nice thing about any products you get here at Cultures For Health is the awesome customer service! The live chat feature is SO appreciated! (Posted on March 14, 2014)
brown rice sourdough starter Review by cary
Price
Value
Quality
delivered promptly and they answered my questions forthwith. happy with sourdough culturing and bread is delicious. i will continue to make sourdough bread with this original culture from Cultures for Health. (Posted on June 7, 2014)
A lot of work to keep alive Review by Heidi
Price
Value
Quality
I was really excited to get going with sourdough gluten free bread, but did not realize that with gluten free starter it needs to be fed every 4-8 hours, and even in the refridgerator it needs to be fed every couple of days. I was not prepared to have it be this much work! I was looking forward to saving money with starter, but have actually lost about $40 in the process because of having to buy the starter, pay for shipping, and then buy all the flours, only to find that the bread was not very good.

Response from CFH: Please contact customer support for troubleshooting advice before discarding product. Many cultures can be saved with minor adjustments. (Posted on February 15, 2014)

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Brown Rice Sourdough Starter

How do you rate this product? *

  1 2 3 4 5
Quality
Price
Value


Free eBook Library Access & Weekly Newsletter


Sign up today for free access to our entire library of easy to follow eBooks on creating cultured foods at home, including Lacto-Fermentation, Kombucha, Kefir, Yogurt, Sourdough, and Cheesemaking.
  • Library of eBooks for making your own cultured foods
  • Weekly newsletter filled with tips & tricks
  • Expert advice articles, recipes, and how-to videos
  • Join 150,000+ other health-conscious readers
  • We never share your information!
first name last name email address