Brown Rice Sourdough Starter

Quality
Price
Value
12 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

$12.99

Product Alerts

Perishable  
Share: FB

Quality
5 star :
83%
( 10 )
4 star :
8%
( 1 )
2 star :
8%
( 1 )
Value
5 star :
67%
( 8 )
4 star :
17%
( 2 )
3 star :
8%
( 1 )
2 star :
8%
( 1 )
Price
5 star :
67%
( 8 )
4 star :
8%
( 1 )
3 star :
17%
( 2 )
2 star :
8%
( 1 )
Total : 12 Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 12 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
Very good Review by Sue
Value
Quality
Price
I do not know much about sourdough starters, I tried to make my own but it didn't work, this did. I have had it going for a few weeks now. We have made pancakes, waffles, crepes with the extra sourdough and 2 batches of bread with the starter. The bread was pretty flat because it was gluten free, it tasted good though. I used superfine brown rice flour to feed it, then ran out and have used other flours, it is still doing well. (Posted on 12/10/2013)
very pleased with results Review by mg
Quality
Price
Value
Very pleased with results. Would order this again and will recommend it to others. (Posted on 2/20/2014)
Great product Review by nana
Price
Value
Quality
My brown rice culture for sour dough is working very well. I am pleased with the taste, as well as how quickly the culture was ready to use. (Posted on 2/23/2014)
Tastes great! Review by Devon
Price
Value
Quality
It does require more feeding than traditional starter, but I love sourdough pancakes, so it's no big deal to me! Very tasty for being gluten-free, and I've been able to make decent bread with it as well. Due to food allergies, I have to avoid dairy, gluten, egg, soy, and other ingredients, so this brown rice starter has been a godsend for being able to enjoy gluten-free goodies. (Posted on 5/20/2014)
Wonderful! Review by ConnieM
Value
Quality
Price
Gluten free sourdough! Great starter,have used it to make crackers and pretzel balls. Very tasty! (Posted on 8/23/2014)
Wonderful starter! Review by rhodesaz
Value
Quality
Price
I've had to go gluten-free, so ordered this starter to try. It activated wonderfully! I'm very happy.
Now I'm having to learn about adjustments for high altitude, but it's all part of the learning process. :) (Posted on 10/30/2014)
Love Customer support! Review by Cindy
Value
Quality
Price
I was frantic until I called customer support, and have had 2 apple cake - so far made from the discards! I added chopped apples, coconut oil and organic pastry flour and some other ingredients to make it like a pancake without having to cook them one by one. That moment you see bubbling? Priceless. I made treats for the dogs from the discards, too. (Posted on 11/4/2014)
Excellent, healthful product Review by Beth
Value
Quality
Price
I bought the brown rice sourdough starter and have been having great success with it. I followed the directions that come with it to get the sourdough fermenting, and then I followed the directions found in a gluten-free cooking magazine to make the bread. The sourdough ferments very well, and makes a wonderful, healthy loaf of bread. You save the some of the starter to make bread over and over from your original purchase. I recently substituted quinoa flour for brown rice and I like the taste of it even better. (Posted on 11/22/2014)
Great product Review by gomiche
Price
Value
Quality
I live at 9000 ft in cold and started my sourdough culture from the packet, had my first loaf of bread in 7 days. I did have to work with gluten free recipes a few times, but finally got one that worked. Easy to use and maintain, makes great bread. I would recommend. (Posted on 4/27/2014)
Great bread, but too time consuming. Review by Erica
Price
Value
Quality
Lovely product...If you want another pet! I had to feed the starter every 4 hours for 3 days. Then have the combined flours/ingredients rise for 4 hours. That is a lot of time. Plus, when it is stored in the fridge before using it again, it has to be "awakened" which also takes several feedings of flour, over a couple days.

The resulting bread was pretty good, but I used up the starter and decided to call it a "fun experiment".

The nice thing about any products you get here at Cultures For Health is the awesome customer service! The live chat feature is SO appreciated! (Posted on 3/13/2014)

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Brown Rice Sourdough Starter

  •  
    1 star
    2 stars
    3 stars
    4 stars
    5 stars
    Value
    Quality
    Price
  • * Required Fields


Free eBook Library Access & Weekly Newsletter


Sign up today for free access to our entire library of easy to follow eBooks on creating cultured foods at home, including Lacto-Fermentation, Kombucha, Kefir, Yogurt, Sourdough, and Cheesemaking.
  • Library of eBooks for making your own cultured foods
  • Weekly newsletter filled with tips & tricks
  • Expert advice articles, recipes, and how-to videos
  • Join 150,000+ other health-conscious readers
  • We never share your information!
first name last name email address