San Francisco Sourdough Starter

Price
Value
Quality
24 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

$12.99

Product Alerts

Perishable  
Share: FB

Quality
5 star :
92%
( 22 )
1 star :
8%
( 2 )
Value
5 star :
88%
( 21 )
4 star :
4%
( 1 )
1 star :
8%
( 2 )
Price
5 star :
83%
( 20 )
4 star :
4%
( 1 )
3 star :
8%
( 2 )
2 star :
4%
( 1 )
Total : 24 Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 24 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
Lauren@DessertsByLauren.com Review by Lauren
Price
Value
Quality
I LOVE this starter! I have made pancakes twice with it, I have 2 loaves of bread proofing right now, and I plan to try out some pretzels this week. It is so easy to maintain. I keep about a cup in my fridge and I've been keeping some out for daily use. LOVE it! Next I plan to freeze some so I will truly never be without sourdough again! (Posted on 12/14/2011)
LOVE IT!!! Review by Nutrition.Nazi
Price
Value
Quality
I got this starter for free with an ebook promotion. I had never done anything with sourdough before, but with all of the health benefits, I was excited to try it. It was very easy to set up. I love the fact that it is the only starter that I will ever need to purchase and that I can share some with friends so that they can have their own starter. I am going to try a yogurt culture now. (Posted on 12/19/2012)
I have enjoyed my sourdough starter immensely!! Review by Kelley
Price
Value
Quality
I've been on a gluten free diet for about a year now, but I still crave good bread. I wanted to start a sourdough starter so that I could make healthier breads that are soaked and easier to digest. This starter has been so easy to maintain, and the breads I have made are wonderful. I now regularly make pancakes, waffles, tortillas, and a rustic bread loaf. All of these are soaked over night, and none of them bother my stomach! The texture is amazing and the flavor is delicious! (Posted on 1/9/2013)
It lives!!!! Review by HarryK
Value
Quality
Price
When trying to decide, which starter might be best for me, I read the description of each starter. I couldn't decide on just one, so ended up ordering four different starters.

That was about a month ago, so far I have only used one, "The San Francisco Starter." I can tell you, it works like a charm.

Although, it isn't necessary, I put the starter in a dough proofer box and kept the temperature at a constant 85 degrees. The starter is growing like mad!!! At first I didn't want to discard any of the starter so I ended up with three containers of starter. It finally dawned on me that if I kept adding jar after jar of starter, I would soon have to make an addition to the size of my kitchen. I suggest following the directions and discard extra starter as directed or make lots of pancakes.

My dream was to have all four starters going at the same time. I pictured myself baking lots of bread and comparing the flavor of each starter. Well folks, that was one dumb idea. At the age of 71, taking care of one starter is about all I can handle. I will keep the other three starters in the cabinet and use as needed, that is if I ever need another starter. I might end up giving the starters as gifts to friends, but darn, I am not for sure I want them baking better sourdough bread than I am baking,,,lol.

I have a feeling all of the starters are delicious, I can assure you the San Francisco Starter is terrific and I highly recommend it.

(Posted on 11/10/2013)
Perfect! Review by Angel
Price
Value
Quality
Love it! I am making einkorn sourdough bread, it's exactly what I was looking for! (Posted on 11/16/2013)
The Best Review by Tracie
Quality
Price
Value
The bread I make with this starter has the best flavor of any sourdough I've eaten. Have been making sourdough for years and absolutely love this. I plan on trying other starters as well. (Posted on 12/10/2013)
Vigorous Review by Lori
Price
Value
Quality
Very vigorous right out of the package. No slowing it down either!! :) Good stuff (Posted on 12/15/2013)
great Review by mamie
Value
Quality
Price
Easy to active and the bread tasted good. This was my first try with sourdough and it worked out well. (Posted on 12/22/2013)
Excellent product! Review by LanDebLew
Price
Value
Quality
Best bread, most active starter, I love it! (Posted on 12/26/2013)
Excellent starter Review by Bill
Price
Value
Quality
Real San Francisco flavor and aroma. Has developed beautifully over the last two weeks and makes a great loaf. (Posted on 1/14/2014)

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: San Francisco Sourdough Starter

  •  
    1 star
    2 stars
    3 stars
    4 stars
    5 stars
    Value
    Quality
    Price
  • * Required Fields


Free eBook Library Access & Weekly Newsletter


Sign up today for free access to our entire library of easy to follow eBooks on creating cultured foods at home, including Lacto-Fermentation, Kombucha, Kefir, Yogurt, Sourdough, and Cheesemaking.
  • Library of eBooks for making your own cultured foods
  • Weekly newsletter filled with tips & tricks
  • Expert advice articles, recipes, and how-to videos
  • Join 150,000+ other health-conscious readers
  • We never share your information!
first name last name email address