Desem Sourdough Starter

Price
Value
Quality
18 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

$12.99
Quality
5 star :
83%
( 15 )
2 star :
6%
( 1 )
1 star :
11%
( 2 )
Value
5 star :
72%
( 13 )
4 star :
11%
( 2 )
2 star :
6%
( 1 )
1 star :
11%
( 2 )
Price
5 star :
33%
( 6 )
4 star :
39%
( 7 )
3 star :
11%
( 2 )
2 star :
11%
( 2 )
1 star :
6%
( 1 )
Total : 18 Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 18 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
O M G !!!! Review by Tiger
Price
Value
Quality
I am just putting my oven to 400 degrees so that I can make my first two loaves of sourdough bread. I am so excited. I guess you're reading this and thinking, 'So why the five stars if you haven't made the bread yet?' I made waffles!!!! When you are activating your sourdough you tend to have a lot and I mean A LOT of starter develop very quickly. I hated wasting so much of the starter so I followed the recipe for waffles. I added a little extra flour because my starter was softer but O M G!!! The best waffles EVER!!!! I have been enjoying them for about three or four days. I am down to my last one and I am already oh so sad. I have about 4 cups of starter still semi-activated in the fridge soOOooo!!! I am going to pull it out and make some more sourdough waffles!! Excellent dessert, which is how I eat them, but I think they would make a great breakfast too. The bread I am about to bake has risen better than any bread I have ever made and I have been making bread for about 2 years. Now I am just dying to try this sourdough as a bread. I bet it will be awesome!!! (Posted on January 6, 2013)
Yum! Review by tiger
Quality
Value
Price
I have to admit that I messed up my first batch by not putting enough salt in the mix. However, I just ate this bread with some goats milk bree and WOW!!! Delicious!! It is worth it. (Posted on January 8, 2013)
Delicious and easy Review by Ceiba
Price
Value
Quality
I had no trouble activating the sourdough from the package and I've been making bread now for a few weeks. I love the texture of sourdough bread. I've messed around with different recipes and even just guessing at quantities and it has always turned out well. I use extra starter to make pancakes sometimes. Sour pancakes with syrup is delicious.

I wouldn't hesitate to try it. You do need to feed the starter often at first with more flour and water, but then you can keep it in the fridge and the feeding slows down.

I love it! (Posted on January 25, 2014)
Reliable Review by MFritz
Quality
Price
Value
I've tried many times to make my own starter from scratch with very little success. I feel this starter actually helped me SAVE money because I didn't have to throw away product and time after failing miserably. I was very happy with the results. My starter started bubbling with in several days and I've now had 4 successful loaves and two amazing batches of pancakes (delicious with homemade strawberry sauce!). (Posted on February 17, 2014)
It worked Review by emmaleesee
Value
Quality
Price
I followed the directions and was able to make great bread the first week. (Posted on April 3, 2014)
Successful Sourdough! Review by Kim Smith
Value
Quality
Price
I use einkorn flour with this whole wheat sourdough starter and it has worked really well. It took about five days for my starter to show signs of good health (bubbles, doubling in size), and since then I have been making pancakes, muffins and bread...all have been delicious! My chickens are also enjoying my extra starter :) (Posted on April 9, 2014)
Very smart purchase! Review by Shan
Value
Quality
Price
I am very happy with the Desem starter. I've been baking our family's bread since September and I'm thrilled with the results. There is definitely a learning curve with sourdough, and I still don't have it perfect, but it's still darn good bread, fantastic some of the time, just good others. I think a lot has to do with timing, but the starter works great - very active and "happy". I will never go back to store bought bread!! (Posted on January 17, 2011)
rlschumaker@yahoo.com Review by Rebecca S
Price
Value
Quality
I am new to making sourdough but I've had nothing but success with this starter. My starter is bubbly and happy, easy to work with and literally everything I've made has turned out perfect. I just wish I'd tried it sooner, it is pretty much foolproof! (Posted on December 22, 2011)
Great sourdough starter Review by Ashley
Price
Value
Quality
I've been using my desem starter for a few weeks now and I love it. It has a great sour flavor and rises well. It is much better than my previous sourdough starter. It is a little more expensive than some other companies out there but it is a great product, so worth the price. (Posted on January 21, 2012)
Very satisfied! Review by elizrbaldwin
Price
Value
Quality
The upfront price may seem a little high, but when you consider how much using the starter over time will save you, it is well worth it! Had no problems with reactivating the culture, and it is very vigorous. Raised the first loaf of bread in around 3 hours, and has a nice complex taste, with very little tanginess. So much better than store bought breads! (Posted on February 23, 2012)

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Desem Sourdough Starter

How do you rate this product? *

  1 2 3 4 5
Price
Value
Quality


Free eBook Library Access & Weekly Newsletter


Sign up today for free access to our entire library of easy to follow eBooks on creating cultured foods at home, including Lacto-Fermentation, Kombucha, Kefir, Yogurt, Sourdough, and Cheesemaking.
  • Library of eBooks for making your own cultured foods
  • Weekly newsletter filled with tips & tricks
  • Expert advice articles, recipes, and how-to videos
  • Join 140,000+ other health-conscious readers
  • We never share your information!
first name last name email address