Piima Yogurt Starter

Price
Value
Quality
12 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

Regular Price: $12.99

Special Price: $9.99

Product Alerts

Perishable  
Share: FB

Quality
5 star :
75%
( 9 )
1 star :
25%
( 3 )
Value
5 star :
67%
( 8 )
4 star :
8%
( 1 )
1 star :
25%
( 3 )
Price
5 star :
58%
( 7 )
4 star :
17%
( 2 )
1 star :
25%
( 3 )
Total : 12 Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 12 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
Yummy Review by Paula
Price
Value
Quality
I bought this product because I wanted a cultured beverage to replace kefir. I used goat milk and the piima has the consistency of kefir. I let it culture initially for 36 hours. I actually bought matsoni, filmjolk, and viili as well and didn't like them as much. With goat milk, they were also beverages. The filmjolk was my second favorite and also had the consistency of kefir, but the filmjolk had a very acidic/tart bite to it (so it would be great for baking). This piima tastes similar to buttermilk but without the acidic bite or tartness. There is just a very mild tartness that tells you it's not just plain milk. It is very mild and delicious. It has a nice aroma, too. It's exactly what I was looking for to replace my daily cultured beverage. The flavor is excellent. (Posted on 11/5/2011)
My Personal Favorite Review by Meir
Quality
Price
Value
We bought all four mesophilic cultures (Piimä, Viili, Matsoni, and Filmjölk) and this is our personal favorite. It is quite thin when at room temperature but becomes much thicker when cold. It has a sweet flavor and is kind of fun to play with as it tends to fall off the spoon. The other cultures are well worth getting as well but make sure you get this one if you had to choose only one. (Posted on 5/15/2012)
Delightful Review by Amanda
Value
Quality
Price
This is a very tasty culture. Produces a thin yogurt when used with milk. I prefer to use it with cream. Makes for a delicious sour cream/ creme fraiche. I often use it in soups. Makes a great dessert topping too! Nice and mild with a very slight tang. (Posted on 1/10/2013)
awesome stuff Review by T
Price
Value
Quality
I love pima, I use it in cream, so it comes out really thick. It makes the best mayo substitute for everything. I usually use it in potato salad, or mix it with cranberry sauce (homemade) and make turkey sandwiches, the best. Way too many uses to get into. (Posted on 12/8/2013)
Silky and perfect! Review by Cinnamonbark
Price
Value
Quality
..cultured *beautifully*, and I can't wait to experiment with 'flavoring' it! Very, very easy, and works like a charm!

I think I'm going to experiment with Kefir next, as I feel so inspired by 'drinkable' yogurts! :-D (Posted on 4/19/2014)
EXCELLENT! Review by Rayah
Quality
Price
Value
What a great product to begin culturing with! Excellent packing, high quality product with easy to follow instructions. It felt "hand-delivered". THANK YOU! (Posted on 4/28/2014)
Novice and am enjoying my own yogurt! Review by JB
Quality
Price
Value
I had no problems starting the Piima culture. It was the only one I purchased as I wanted some drinkable yogurt after trying some made with raw milk at a farm. I have not purchased store bought yogurt since. I look forward to it as desert sweetened with a little bit of Agave nectar and some raspberries. I also use it as a fruit dip. I have been having so much fun with the basic yogurt I haven't even made it to to the raw milk yet and after reading the reviews, I now have some new ideas. (Posted on 5/19/2014)
I love it! Review by Liquid Yogurt Fan
Quality
Price
Value
It worked at room temperature in about 8 hrs. I just mixed it well in 1% organic milk and voila! So easy. Now I add honey to my cup and enjoy it either just like that or on my cereal. I always keep 1/4 of the yogurt to keep it going and it's doing great after 2 weeks and 5 refills. (Posted on 6/5/2014)
Excellent! Review by J Fu
Price
Value
Quality
I was able to activate my Piima starter the first trial; it started to set at around 36 hours. After that, the yogurt routinely sets around 6 to 9 hours. Piima by itself tastes very mild and taste; I would he happy to just eat it as it is. My older daughter - the gourmet eater in my family - approves the mild taste of Piima and actually said she likes this better than store-brought yogurt. (Posted on 12/26/2013)
Cultues must have been dead Review by cc
Price
Value
Quality
I did not have any luck. i let it culture for 48 hours and the milk was just as I had started 48hours before. there was no sign of culturing. very disappointed

Response from CFH: Please contact customer support for troubleshooting advice before discarding product. Many cultures can be saved with minor adjustments. (Posted on 1/16/2014)

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Piima Yogurt Starter

  •  
    1 star
    2 stars
    3 stars
    4 stars
    5 stars
    Price
    Value
    Quality
  • * Required Fields


Free eBook Library Access & Weekly Newsletter


Sign up today for free access to our entire library of easy to follow eBooks on creating cultured foods at home, including Lacto-Fermentation, Kombucha, Kefir, Yogurt, Sourdough, and Cheesemaking.
  • Library of eBooks for making your own cultured foods
  • Weekly newsletter filled with tips & tricks
  • Expert advice articles, recipes, and how-to videos
  • Join 150,000+ other health-conscious readers
  • We never share your information!
first name last name email address