Piima Yogurt Starter

Price
Value
Quality
8 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

$12.99
Quality
5 star :
63%
( 5 )
1 star :
38%
( 3 )
Value
5 star :
50%
( 4 )
4 star :
13%
( 1 )
1 star :
38%
( 3 )
Price
5 star :
50%
( 4 )
4 star :
13%
( 1 )
1 star :
38%
( 3 )
Total : 8 Reviews

8 Item(s)

per page
Yummy Review by Paula
Price
Value
Quality
I bought this product because I wanted a cultured beverage to replace kefir. I used goat milk and the piima has the consistency of kefir. I let it culture initially for 36 hours. I actually bought matsoni, filmjolk, and viili as well and didn't like them as much. With goat milk, they were also beverages. The filmjolk was my second favorite and also had the consistency of kefir, but the filmjolk had a very acidic/tart bite to it (so it would be great for baking). This piima tastes similar to buttermilk but without the acidic bite or tartness. There is just a very mild tartness that tells you it's not just plain milk. It is very mild and delicious. It has a nice aroma, too. It's exactly what I was looking for to replace my daily cultured beverage. The flavor is excellent. (Posted on November 5, 2011)
My Personal Favorite Review by Meir
Quality
Price
Value
We bought all four mesophilic cultures (Piimä, Viili, Matsoni, and Filmjölk) and this is our personal favorite. It is quite thin when at room temperature but becomes much thicker when cold. It has a sweet flavor and is kind of fun to play with as it tends to fall off the spoon. The other cultures are well worth getting as well but make sure you get this one if you had to choose only one. (Posted on May 15, 2012)
Delightful Review by Amanda
Value
Quality
Price
This is a very tasty culture. Produces a thin yogurt when used with milk. I prefer to use it with cream. Makes for a delicious sour cream/ creme fraiche. I often use it in soups. Makes a great dessert topping too! Nice and mild with a very slight tang. (Posted on January 10, 2013)
awesome stuff Review by T
Price
Value
Quality
I love pima, I use it in cream, so it comes out really thick. It makes the best mayo substitute for everything. I usually use it in potato salad, or mix it with cranberry sauce (homemade) and make turkey sandwiches, the best. Way too many uses to get into. (Posted on December 8, 2013)
Excellent! Review by J Fu
Price
Value
Quality
I was able to activate my Piima starter the first trial; it started to set at around 36 hours. After that, the yogurt routinely sets around 6 to 9 hours. Piima by itself tastes very mild and taste; I would he happy to just eat it as it is. My older daughter - the gourmet eater in my family - approves the mild taste of Piima and actually said she likes this better than store-brought yogurt. (Posted on December 26, 2013)
Cultues must have been dead Review by cc
Price
Value
Quality
I did not have any luck. i let it culture for 48 hours and the milk was just as I had started 48hours before. there was no sign of culturing. very disappointed

Response from CFH: Please contact customer support for troubleshooting advice before discarding product. Many cultures can be saved with minor adjustments. (Posted on January 16, 2014)
terrible Review by sbrown
Value
Quality
Price
This product did not work at all for me. My milk did nothing after 48 hrs. so I left it out longer. Then it just spoiled, curdled, and separated. Nasty. Not sure what the problem was. Waste of money.

Response from CFH: Please contact customer support for troubleshooting advice before discarding product. Many cultures can be saved with minor adjustments. (Posted on March 16, 2014)
Sickly sweet smelling yogurt Review by Jane
Price
Value
Quality
We very carefully followed the instructions twice, even buying a second container of fresh milk. Each time the yogurt took a day and a half to gel and had a sickly sweet smell - the kind that I identify as something spoiled. Sigh! It looks so easy in the video. I'd sure like to know why this happened. Anyone else have this experience?

To the company's credit, they offered to send new starters of another type. Haven't received those yet so don't know the outcome.

Response from CFH: Piima yogurt is a mild-flavored yogurt drink with a pleasant aroma and flavor. CFH Customer Support is always available to assist with any of our products. (Posted on March 21, 2014)

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Piima Yogurt Starter

How do you rate this product? *

  1 2 3 4 5
Price
Value
Quality


Free eBook Library Access & Weekly Newsletter


Sign up today for free access to our entire library of easy to follow eBooks on creating cultured foods at home, including Lacto-Fermentation, Kombucha, Kefir, Yogurt, Sourdough, and Cheesemaking.
  • Library of eBooks for making your own cultured foods
  • Weekly newsletter filled with tips & tricks
  • Expert advice articles, recipes, and how-to videos
  • Join 140,000+ other health-conscious readers
  • We never share your information!
first name last name email address