Filmjolk Yogurt Starter

Price
Value
Quality
22 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

$12.99
Share: FB

Quality
5 star :
82%
( 18 )
4 star :
9%
( 2 )
3 star :
5%
( 1 )
1 star :
5%
( 1 )
Value
5 star :
77%
( 17 )
4 star :
14%
( 3 )
3 star :
5%
( 1 )
1 star :
5%
( 1 )
Price
5 star :
50%
( 11 )
4 star :
36%
( 8 )
3 star :
5%
( 1 )
1 star :
9%
( 2 )
Total : 22 Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 22 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
Love this starter! Review by Carriek
Value
Quality
Price
Super easy to make, perfect for smoothies, separates easily into whey. Tart, refreshing flavor. I've had this culture going for almost a year now, with no change in flavor or consistency. (Posted on 3/15/2011)
Wonderful Filmjolk Review by JollyJen
Value
Quality
Price
Filmjolk is delicious and exceptionally easy to make. It has a mild, ever so slightly tangy flavor and a lovely delicate texture, which my children appreciate. I use filmjolk every day. It's great for homemade muesli. It is very nice with some fruits, nuts, maple or honey, and I've even been able to use filmjolk with some jam or lingonberry preserves as a dessert for my children. I have a nice dessert trick for filmjolk. I mix a little coconut oil with an equal amount honey. When you pour cold filmjolk on this, it will harden the mixture. Then, you can break the mixture apart with a fork, making lovely honey chips in the filmjolk. I highly recommend this product. (Posted on 5/5/2011)
The very best yogurt Review by swedishsweetie
Price
Value
Quality
This summer I remembered my Swedish grandmother making filbunk (sp) in a bowl on her cupboard when I was a child. I have been making filmjolk since I found this website. Although it is quite different than my grandmother's yogurt, it is delicious. My sister and her children now eat quantities of it as well. It is so easy to make. This winter I have found that putting the jars, covered with 2 towels, on baking sheet on my cable box for approximately 22 hours makes the finest yogurt I have ever made. I heartily recommend it to anyone. (Posted on 1/17/2012)
my favorite mesophilic yogurt Review by jasonbaker@herzeleid.net
Value
Quality
Price
Of all the mesophilic (can make at room temp) yogurts, this is by far my favorite . Very versatile , great in smoothies, to cook with, as a salad dressing base and makes great yogurt cheese. The subtle cheese-like flavor really gives the flavor more character without being overwhelming or undesirable . So easy to make and maintain too ! (Posted on 3/29/2012)
Authentic Review by UC
Quality
Price
Value
I was born and raised in Sweden, and ths starter is the closest thing to filmjölk I have had outside of the Nordic countries.

Not that it matters, but filmjölk is Swedish (fil is viili in Finnish), so I had to smile when you say that this is a Finnish product. (Posted on 5/14/2014)
Easy to Use and smooth taste with great fermented benefit. Enjoy in smoothie Review by golden petal
Quality
Price
Value
Great flavor made with organic lowfat milk (Posted on 6/3/2014)
Drain it for a great "sour cream" alternative. Review by Crystal
Value
Quality
Price
I love milking my goats, and finding unusual uses for the surplus; but I need sour cream regularly for the scones I make for my husbands breakfast. I tried thickening Kefir, but didn't get that right yet. (recipe anyone?) However, drained Filmjolk tastes so similar to sour cream and works in the recipe! Yippy! Another step towards independence from the grocery store! (Posted on 6/18/2014)
Nice yogurt Review by W.L.
Price
Value
Quality
I think I like this more than the matsoni yogurt because it is milder and less tart. Excellent yogurt and so easy to make. Both are great products, I just prefer this one for eating plain as is and use the matsoni for smoothies, dressings, etc. Highly recommend! (Posted on 7/23/2014)
I love your products and web site. Review by Pam
Value
Quality
Price
I found the starter arrived timely and with good instructions to get started. I use goat milk and had great results. (Posted on 10/28/2014)
All Around Great Yogurt Review by Mommagamerz
Value
Quality
Price
Wow. You certainly do get a lot of bang for your buck! I'm used to making strong Greek yogurt so the mild nature and complete lack of work on my part took some getting used to but it was worth it!
Add a little homey and fresh blackberries (or other fruit, of course) and my 9 year old comes running. That has never happened before! I honestly can't wait to add it to recipes as well. (Posted on 11/6/2014)

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Filmjolk Yogurt Starter

  •  
    1 star
    2 stars
    3 stars
    4 stars
    5 stars
    Value
    Quality
    Price
  • * Required Fields


Free eBook Library Access & Weekly Newsletter


Sign up today for free access to our entire library of easy to follow eBooks on creating cultured foods at home, including Lacto-Fermentation, Kombucha, Kefir, Yogurt, Sourdough, and Cheesemaking.
  • Library of eBooks for making your own cultured foods
  • Weekly newsletter filled with tips & tricks
  • Expert advice articles, recipes, and how-to videos
  • Join 150,000+ other health-conscious readers
  • We never share your information!
first name last name email address