Parisian Sourdough Starter

Price
Value
Quality
11 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

$12.99

Product Alerts

Perishable  
Share: FB

Quality
5 star :
91%
( 10 )
1 star :
9%
( 1 )
Value
5 star :
73%
( 8 )
4 star :
18%
( 2 )
1 star :
9%
( 1 )
Price
5 star :
55%
( 6 )
4 star :
27%
( 3 )
3 star :
9%
( 1 )
1 star :
9%
( 1 )
Total : 11 Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 11 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
Very happy! Review by Linda
Price
Value
Quality
The starter revived with no problems. I made cinnamon rolls as a "test" just before a week was up and they rose beautifully. I made sourdough biscuits and pancakes with discarded starter throughout the first week and they were wonderful. I am really pleased with this purchase. Reasonable price too. (Posted on 11/4/2013)
Mild with power Review by Topo242
Price
Value
Quality
A very nice culture to start a lavain. This makes for a very neutral and mild starter that can be used for most breads. I keep my starter at 125% hydration as I bake bread every other day. It requires 3 feelings per day if you do this. The flavor is slightly nut to earthy. If you bake less often reduce hydration to equal parts by weight and refrigerate up to a week without feeding. Bring a portion up yo 125 to 150 hydration day before to get a very active starter. If you buy the San Francisco starter , keep it in the fridge at 125 % hydration, it likes cooler temperature to survive and multiply.
I would definitely recommend the culture they sell as authentic in flavor development for French baguettes.
Hope this helps.
Cheers
Michael (Posted on 12/11/2013)
Fantastic starter! Review by LisaR
Value
Quality
Price
I have purchased starters from other companies with disappointing results, but this starter is fantastic. It is very active and has been easy to maintain. in the first week I made pizza dough and pancakes with the discard. This week I made baguettes and they were wonderful! I don't bake during the week so I keep in the fridge and start my feeding process on Friday for the weekend. (Posted on 9/25/2014)
Worked very well for me Review by Provi
Value
Quality
Price
This started worked beautifully, I got gorgeous loaves of bread with it. It has a sour taste as one would expect, but not as marked as other sourdough breads I've tried. very good produce over all. Thanks ! (Posted on 10/7/2014)
Très bien! Review by Loveychick
Value
Quality
Price
I LOVE my French sourdough starter! I've named it Jean-Luc and shared it with a friend, who named her portion Henry Pierre. I'm brand new to sourdough baking and have already successfully baked a delicious loaf of ciabatta with the discard and an even more spectacular loaf of no-knead bread in a dutch oven. Wow! This is fun! Thanks, CFH, and bon appetit! (Posted on 11/2/2014)
Excellent taste Review by Sassavaughn
Value
Quality
Price
I am French and I really like the taste of my bread made with this starter. Thank you! (Posted on 11/5/2014)
Wonderful stuff! Review by Rachel
Price
Value
Quality
I got this as a gift about 8 months ago. I left the unopened package of starter in my fridge until a few days ago, when I started the process of bringing it back to life. After about 4 days of following the instructions pretty carefully, I have a big foamy jar of starter. After feeding, it triples in volume in about 4 hours. This is exciting!

I just baked my first loaf. I used the no-knead method and baked in a covered, preheated dutch oven. The bread came out perfectly. It's just as light and airy as my yeasted bread. The crust and flavor are superb. The sour flavor is present, but not as pronounced as other sourdough breads I've had.

Thank you!

(CFH, I don't see a way to add a photo here, but am happy to submit them.) (Posted on 11/4/2013)
Great product Review by Ferg
Price
Value
Quality
I have made a couple of loaves already. It's a lot of fun working with the sourdough starter, and this product (along with the recipes) made the process pretty easy!
I'm actually looking for a really hearty wheat recipe possibly with extra grains added... I think that would make a great bread. (Posted on 5/1/2014)
Good stuff Review by James
Quality
Price
Value
Received the starter quickly. Followed the directions without problems with a strong, healthy start. A previous starter from another company failed. This one was strong from the beginning. After some weeks using the technique of storing in the refrigerator, I split it to make a rye starter and it performed great. Now have two starters to work with. (Posted on 7/24/2014)
Yeah! Review by cjcash
Price
Value
Quality
I actually thought I had killed it, but the online help was awesome. My starter wasn't activating and had started to grown mold on the side. I followed the advice and now have tons of very healthy starter. Being new to sourdough I was also thrilled with the included recipes and very through instructions. Thank you very much! (Posted on 1/2/2014)

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Parisian Sourdough Starter

  •  
    1 star
    2 stars
    3 stars
    4 stars
    5 stars
    Value
    Quality
    Price
  • * Required Fields


Free eBook Library Access & Weekly Newsletter


Sign up today for free access to our entire library of easy to follow eBooks on creating cultured foods at home, including Lacto-Fermentation, Kombucha, Kefir, Yogurt, Sourdough, and Cheesemaking.
  • Library of eBooks for making your own cultured foods
  • Weekly newsletter filled with tips & tricks
  • Expert advice articles, recipes, and how-to videos
  • Join 150,000+ other health-conscious readers
  • We never share your information!
first name last name email address