Viili Yogurt Starter

Quality
Price
Value
58 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

$12.99
Quality
5 star :
66%
( 38 )
4 star :
9%
( 5 )
3 star :
3%
( 2 )
2 star :
9%
( 5 )
1 star :
14%
( 8 )
Value
5 star :
62%
( 36 )
4 star :
12%
( 7 )
3 star :
5%
( 3 )
2 star :
10%
( 6 )
1 star :
10%
( 6 )
Price
5 star :
59%
( 34 )
4 star :
19%
( 11 )
3 star :
12%
( 7 )
2 star :
3%
( 2 )
1 star :
7%
( 4 )
Total : 58 Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 59 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
Five Stars Review by Laura L.
Price
Value
Quality
I didn't do very well with this culture. I was trying to hurry and wasn't able to culture the starter at the right temperature. I didn't end up making any yogurt with it, but that was my fault so I can't really say how well it works. I got my order promptly though as always and everything was just as they stated in the description with very specific directions. (Posted on December 7, 2010)
Choose both Review by Don
Price
Value
Quality
I currently am making viili and filmjolk. Each is slightly different. Both are thick. My Filmjolk separates into curds and whey more quickly than the viili, but that may be from culturing one batch too long at a cool temp plus we were away for 7 days. Both are easy to make. The temp in my house is +or- 70F. I started both cultures late November 08. The cultures have kept their individual character. Very satisfied with both and the company. You cannot go wrong with either. Choose both. (Posted on December 15, 2010)
Excellent mild yogurt Review by Ulfa
Price
Value
Quality
I bought the viili culture and made several mistakes while starting the culture and it still turned out excellent. Very easy for a beginner of yogurt making. The flavor is great and mild. It improves even more by staying in the fridge for a couple of days. (Posted on January 3, 2011)
Smooth and mild yogurt Review by Ulfa
Quality
Price
Value
The culture worked well even after a couple of mistakes. I use 50% cream and it makes a great yogurt. Works on 100% cream as well and makes a great sour cream. (Posted on January 25, 2011)
the easiest yogurt to make Review by gaby
Price
Value
Quality
I made a mistake the first time, but customer service was very helpful and now i'm an expert making yogurt. (Posted on May 1, 2011)
easier than expected Review by Tung Le
Price
Value
Quality
Product arrived withinthree days. No need yogurt maker, just pure yogurt mother and milk. I put it in living away from kefir so they don't cross contaminate as in instruction. Here in So Cal I let it sit more than ten hoursit become cheese, so I just do it before bed time and finish next morning. It came out perfect. (Posted on July 13, 2011)
Awesome!!! Review by yogurtmama
Price
Value
Quality
I have to say I was slightly worried about making yogurt, it is hard to keep a steady temperature in my house, and especially hard to find a place free of drafts. The customer service was awesome too. My first villi starter didn't take hold at all, it curdled both times I tried it. Customer service was very helpful, and ended up sending me a replacement, they figured that my starter simply didn't activate. When I got my new starter I was a little worried about using it, so I followed the directions on the website for making a second start if your first curdles (basically cut all measurements in half.) I set it in my closet, which keeps a temperature of about 70-72 degrees, and I let it sit undisturbed for about 20 hours before I checked it. When I looked in, it had obviously set, and I left it for a couple of more hours. I just moved it to the fridge to cool, and it looks PERFECT, exactly what you would expect the villi to look like, thick and gorgeous! From my numerous tries at the yogurt, I have come to two conclusions. 1) The yogurt should be left COMPLETELY undisturbed for at least 20 hours, don't move it at all! 2) It seems to culture best when the room is on the cooler side of the scale, not the warmer. I am really excited, and think that CFH is an amazing site. Thank you!!! (Posted on August 27, 2011)
diane@speedkin.com Review by Diane
Quality
Price
Value
Love, love, love this stuff! I can't stand fussy thing, like "regular" yogurt. Viili, however, is so easy. It took a couple of days to fully wake up but now it's going like gangbusters. And, no, it's not thick like storebought yogurt but it has an amazing taste. We drink it out of a cup and my kids ask for it every day.

I'd like to try a ropey version of viili as well one day, should you ever decide to stock it. (Posted on December 28, 2011)
Wonderful Viili Review by Lynn the Finn
Quality
Price
Value
I grew up eating Viili and had not had a bowl for many years. I found this website and wanted to give the product a try. I am very pleased. This culture was easy to use and made very tasty Viili the first time and since. I leave it on my kitchen counter and it's ready the next day. Just like I remember. Thanks for the great product. (Posted on May 9, 2012)
Tasty yogurt! Review by Kris M
Value
Quality
Price
I bought Villi and Filmjolk. I started the filmjolk and made it a number of times, but it was too sour (and runny). The one thing I liked about filmjolk is that if you strain it, it's an excellent sour cream replacement.
On the other hand, Villi is perfect! Just tart enough, but quite tasty plain. I make 3 cups at a time and find that it is best when cultured for 12 hours. Then I strain it to get the thick custardy texture I prefer. LOVE this stuff!
Both varieties are very easy to just mix it up and leave it on the counter to culture. (Posted on July 25, 2012)

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Viili Yogurt Starter

How do you rate this product? *

  1 2 3 4 5
Quality
Price
Value


Free eBook Library Access & Weekly Newsletter


Sign up today for free access to our entire library of easy to follow eBooks on creating cultured foods at home, including Lacto-Fermentation, Kombucha, Kefir, Yogurt, Sourdough, and Cheesemaking.
  • Library of eBooks for making your own cultured foods
  • Weekly newsletter filled with tips & tricks
  • Expert advice articles, recipes, and how-to videos
  • Join 140,000+ other health-conscious readers
  • We never share your information!
first name last name email address