Buttermilk Starter

Quality
Price
Value
35 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

$12.99

Product Alerts

Perishable  
Share: FB

Quality
5 star :
91%
( 32 )
4 star :
9%
( 3 )
Value
5 star :
83%
( 29 )
4 star :
14%
( 5 )
2 star :
3%
( 1 )
Price
5 star :
71%
( 25 )
4 star :
20%
( 7 )
3 star :
9%
( 3 )
Total : 35 Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 35 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
Great Product Review by Holly
Quality
Price
Value
I'm so glad that I purchased this starter. Super easy directions that give a wonderful buttermilk! (Posted on 2/2/2011)
Great buttermilk. Review by Maryanne
Price
Value
Quality
I purchased this since I use so much buttermilk in cooking and smoothies. I started off strong, followed the instructions to the letter, and got a nice, thick, delicious batch every time. My house tends to run on the cooler side, and the ideal warm spot ended up being on top of my bedroom TV. Weird, but worked. I did let this die last month, but it's all my fault - I just never kept it going. This is a great culture, and I'm going to order another and stay on top of it. (Posted on 2/27/2012)
Great to Make My Own Buttermilk! Review by Chara
Price
Value
Quality
I love the fact that I don't have to worry about strange and gross buttermilk from a store. :) I haven't made butter from the culture, but I have used it in several recipes with good results.

(Posted on 1/10/2013)
Great product! Review by Vanessa
Value
Quality
Price
I'm having a great time with my buttermilk - I've cultured it twice, and used it to soak rice and flour so far. My next goal is to make creme fraiche! I was really afraid it wouldn't culture since I got it in the beginning of December but wasn't able to start it until January, but I think it's working! (Posted on 1/15/2013)
Great Investment! Review by Abigail
Quality
Price
Value
It is worth the investment to get a buttermilk starter. It can last forever, and is a great way to add some probiotics to your diet! (Posted on 1/16/2013)
Great Buttermilk! Review by JP
Price
Value
Quality
Purchased in December and have been making buttermilk weekly from one starter. It truly is a far superior product than store bought and without all the funky additives.
(Posted on 2/15/2013)
Great mother culture! Review by karmes
Quality
Price
Value
I use raw milk and had been trying to make my own cultured buttermilk from scratch. However it kept going bad and I couldn't maintain a stable mother culture. I have now made 4 batches of mother culture and countless batches of regular buttermilk just from the initial packet. I still have my reserve packet just in case. The directions for raw milk where easy to follow and it has definitely performed well! I've been using the buttermilk in some of my bread recipes and what a difference!!
(Posted on 10/26/2013)
and great customer service! Review by karmes
Price
Value
Quality
On top of my previous review of this outstanding culture, I also need to mention that they have great and prompt customer service! (Posted on 10/26/2013)
outstanding! Review by girlgenius
Price
Value
Quality
The culture arrived quickly and I immediately put it to work. It is a great culture and as my other buttermilk culture turned bad I am very happy to have a continuous supply again.
Also the box contained 2 envelopes of starter culture so the other is stashed in the fridge incase something goes wrong with this one
Thanks very much! (Posted on 10/31/2013)
Wonderful daily drink! Review by Jenny
Price
Value
Quality
I have been making a batch every couple of days from this heirloom culture. I really enjoy the flavor and simplicity of the process. I look forward to my daily drink, and wonder why I didn't include this culture in my fermentation "arsenal" earlier. I now make water kefir, milk kefir, greek yogurt and buttermilk. My komucha starter is too new to use, but it is another ferment I will be adding next month. My skin looks great. My appetite is under control. I love it! (Posted on 11/4/2013)

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Buttermilk Starter

  •  
    1 star
    2 stars
    3 stars
    4 stars
    5 stars
    Value
    Quality
    Price
  • * Required Fields


Free eBook Library Access & Weekly Newsletter


Sign up today for free access to our entire library of easy to follow eBooks on creating cultured foods at home, including Lacto-Fermentation, Kombucha, Kefir, Yogurt, Sourdough, and Cheesemaking.
  • Library of eBooks for making your own cultured foods
  • Weekly newsletter filled with tips & tricks
  • Expert advice articles, recipes, and how-to videos
  • Join 150,000+ other health-conscious readers
  • We never share your information!
first name last name email address