Loading..

Product was successfully added to your shopping cart.

5

Product was successfully added to your comparison list.

Body Ecology Kefir Starter Culture

SKU: 5502
Quality
Price
Value
10 Review(s)
Body Ecology Kefir Starter Culture
$26.95

Availability: In stock

You Can Do This
When you buy this product you get FREE ACCESS to: 200-page Lacto-Fermentation eBook including 64 recipes plus hundreds more articles, recipes, and how-to videos
Quality
5 star :
40%
( 4 )
4 star :
30%
( 3 )
3 star :
30%
( 3 )
Value
5 star :
30%
( 3 )
4 star :
30%
( 3 )
3 star :
40%
( 4 )
Price
5 star :
10%
( 1 )
4 star :
30%
( 3 )
3 star :
40%
( 4 )
2 star :
10%
( 1 )
1 star :
10%
( 1 )
Total : 10 Reviews

10 Item(s)

per page
I love this product Review by AngelSarver
Quality
Price
Value
Originally I purchased this product because it had a wider variety of bacteria and yeast plus more packets per box. I understood that I would only get up to 7 uses out of it, but the grains were too much for me to keep up with. Even using raw milk, I have been able to keep one packet going (with great results) through well over 7 uses and the taste is wonderful! (Posted on 3/21/2016)
Body Ecology Kefir Starter Review by Jessieann
Price
Value
Quality
Great product. Tastes great, good texture and I can re-culture 7 times. (Posted on 11/7/2015)
Excellent! Review by CTGirl
Price
Value
Quality
This product is awesome, and super easy to use. Each packet can be used for 7 uses (if you save a little liquid from each batch). I started with coconut water kefir (which tasted pretty gross), but used a little to start some cows milk kefir, which was delicious. Great to keep the packets in the fridge or freezer if you want to make kefir, but don't feel like dealing with the grains. (Posted on 7/2/2014)
keifer starter Review by dodie
Price
Value
Quality
I love the simplicity of this product; you can take it on your travels; suburb! (Posted on 7/8/2014)
Good starter culture Review by Terri
Price
Value
Quality
My first experience with Body Ecology Kefir Starter was poor. The culture was bad; it was a clumpy brown mass and did not work. However, Cultures for Health sent a replacement that was good.

The packet contained the expected powder. It took ~36 hours to culture at room temperature 68-70 deg (it's the dead of winter here). The kefir had a nice, sharp flavor. I was able to successfully re-culture with some of the first batch. This time it took ~24 hours and came out great.

One thing I should note is that I did heat the milk to 180 degrees and let it cool before culturing it. (Posted on 3/3/2014)
Normally like the Body Ecology Starter, but had a bad experience recently. Review by Sherry
Value
Quality
Price
I have used both water kefir grains and Body Ecology Starter. I actually like both. I have found the starter to be quick and convenient at times that I was not using the grains or did not have the time. I like the starter with coconut water, and think it tastes great. I use raw coconut water from Whole Foods, usually one that comes frozen, and it have made many batches and always liked it. Recently I bought two boxes of the starter, and the power was brown/rust color. I made it with the coconut water and it tasted terrible, so I threw it away. I tried another packet from the box, and experienced the same think as I did with the previous batch. The power in the packets of both boxes felt hard. I have experienced the packets hard before, but was told by Body Ecology that the power should be white or beige, and the carrier sometimes causes it to be hard if refrigerated. I went back to the water kefir grains, and they are doing very well, so am enjoying them currently. (Posted on 10/18/2014)
Somewhat variable results Review by Nita
Quality
Price
Value
I have had some difficulty getting a proper tasting kefir from this starter as opposed to the Cultures for Health kefir starter, which has worked flawlessly as a rule in the past. First 4-5 batches tasted more like an extremely mild, almost tasteless runny-type yogurt even though I followed instructions to a t. Experimented with the last batch: left it at room temperature (it is about 65 in my house or lower most of the time) and tighten the lid. After approximately 18 hours it finally tasted like kefir and was lightly effervescent the way it is supposed to be.

Response from Cultures For Health: Although in general milk kefir needs 72-75ºF to work, they are live cultures and subject to change/adapt, so good for you for manipulating variables to get it to your liking! Please don't hesitate to contact us if you need assistance. (Posted on 4/11/2016)
I was disappointed that it did not thicken Review by sally
Price
Value
Quality
After two tries of making a VERY thin kefir, I emailed to ask if I was doing something wrong. The response I got was that it is SUPPOSED to be thin.....really? I will try again with the culture I have left in hopes that it does thicken a little more than my previous two batches.

Response from CFH: Please contact customer support for troubleshooting advice before discarding product. Many cultures can be saved with minor adjustments. (Posted on 12/6/2013)
partially successful Review by akcabinlife
Price
Value
Quality
This kefir culture was successful for both whole milk and heavy whipping cream several times now, but after 4 tries with coconut water, i am giving up. I feel like this product is overpriced and i do not understand why Body Ecology does not offer kefir grains. Seems like they're picking pockets to me, yet i'm grateful for the diet's wisdom and how it's helped me recover from candida. (Posted on 7/24/2011)
Not to impressed Review by becca
Value
Quality
Price
I wasn't really prepared when it came, so I refrigerated it for about 3 days. I don't think the starter helped at all. Try to be knowledgable of how to ferment before you get this. Also, I waited 3 days, not a good idea on my end. It was already weak when I used it.

Response from CFH: Please contact customer support for troubleshooting advice before discarding product. Many cultures can be saved with minor adjustments. (Posted on 5/13/2014)

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Body Ecology Kefir Starter Culture

  •  
    1 star
    2 stars
    3 stars
    4 stars
    5 stars
    Quality
    Price
    Value
  • * Required Fields