Kefir Starter Culture

Quality
Price
Value
10 Review(s)

Availability: Out of stock

$5.99

Product Alerts

Perishable  
Share: FB

Quality
5 star :
70%
( 7 )
3 star :
10%
( 1 )
2 star :
10%
( 1 )
1 star :
10%
( 1 )
Value
5 star :
70%
( 7 )
4 star :
10%
( 1 )
2 star :
10%
( 1 )
1 star :
10%
( 1 )
Price
5 star :
70%
( 7 )
4 star :
10%
( 1 )
3 star :
10%
( 1 )
1 star :
10%
( 1 )
Total : 10 Reviews

10 Item(s)

per page
The best Kefir using RAW cow AND goat milk from a local dairy Review by Anni
Price
Value
Quality
Over the past month or so, I have been enjoying the Kefir that I have been making using RAW cow AND goat milk from a local dairy.
I heard that it may not culture as well using raw milk. Honestly, now I can say that it worked well for me and I have never had better tasting Kefir!

Thank you Cultures For Health! :o)

Ann Chenoweth :o) (Posted on 1/10/2013)
Easy Culture! Review by Yurek
Quality
Price
Value
It was the first time that I have cultured kefir (or anything for that matter). I found the instructions very well researched and easy to read. I have been using the culture now for a few months with regular, pasteurized, 2% cows milk and it is still going strong. I didn't know how much I would like Kefir until buying this culture! (Posted on 1/11/2013)
Great introduction to kefir! Review by Karin H
Quality
Price
Value
This starter culture is the perfect way to experience making kefir for the first time. Now that I've discovered I like it, I'll be upgrading to the grains. ^_^


The product and the price are excellent, & I'll definitely be back for more! (Posted on 12/31/2013)
Excellent product Review by Deb
Value
Quality
Price
I used to use the kefir grains when we milked goats and no matter what I did, I could not make a kefir that my husband and I liked. We could only drink it in smoothies with a lot of fruit and maple syrup sweetener and that adds a lot of calories we didn't want. I worked with it for 3 years before finally giving it up. I just recently found out that there is a product such as this ... and WOW I'm so impressed.

It's super easy to make and I have been able to reculture mine many times over before having to make a new batch. The taste is so pleasant that I can drink it plain or put it over cultured chutney with nothing added. I read that it might not be as potent as using grains but for those of us who were using nothing, this is a true blessing!

It's an awesome product, easy to do and very pleasant, I recommend it to everyone!!! (Posted on 2/21/2014)
Love it Review by Gigis
Price
Value
Quality
Super easy to do, fabulous easy to follow instructions and goof proof. I wish I knew how many times this could be reused, I followed the directions and used a 1/4 cup from the two quarts 3 times, but it was not made clear how many times that would work .

Response from CFH: The number of times the kefir can be recultured will depend upon a number of factors including how careful the user is about cleanliness and not contaminating the culture. (Posted on 3/7/2014)
Love it Review by vic
Price
Value
Quality
Easy to use and great taste (Posted on 6/3/2014)
Very nice product Review by Nickyz
Value
Quality
Price
I received my order very fast. Made Kefir immediately with my raw goat milk. Did the 12 hour culture time, wow how naturally sweet. Next batch I will let set longer to see the result. Thicker, more zip? Thank you for providing extra benefits to my fantastic goat milk. Great price.

CFH Note ~ Not all raw milk rehydrations have such a happy ending, we normally recommend a slow introduction to raw milk. Details can be found here: http://www.culturesforhealth.com/introducing-milk-kefir-grains-raw-milk (Posted on 9/22/2014)
Culture Review by Lnettegar
Price
Value
Quality
I think it worked? Unsure, I've used the culture first with Coconut milk, it seemed that it thicken and continued to use for a second batch to see how that works and now am doing a batch with Goats Milk, which seems to work better, the milk is thicker with a slightly tart taste. Am considering my next step with kiefer grains. (Posted on 3/20/2014)
Coconut milk Review by Kelli
Price
Value
Quality
I tried making this twice with coconut milk. I followed directions exactly, but neither of my batches turned out. Very disappointed.

Response from CFH: Please contact customer support for troubleshooting advice before discarding product. Many cultures can be saved with minor adjustments. (Posted on 1/24/2014)
No directions Review by Jan
Price
Value
Quality
I did not use the product because it did not come with any kind of instructions, i couldnt remember how to mix it and couldnt find them. WHY couldnt you people include a 2 inch piece of paper with simple directions???

Response from CFH: Always feel free to contact us with any packaging problems. We are happy to correct any issues. (Posted on 2/27/2014)

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Kefir Starter Culture

  •  
    1 star
    2 stars
    3 stars
    4 stars
    5 stars
    Value
    Quality
    Price
  • * Required Fields


Free eBook Library Access & Weekly Newsletter


Sign up today for free access to our entire library of easy to follow eBooks on creating cultured foods at home, including Lacto-Fermentation, Kombucha, Kefir, Yogurt, Sourdough, and Cheesemaking.
  • Library of eBooks for making your own cultured foods
  • Weekly newsletter filled with tips & tricks
  • Expert advice articles, recipes, and how-to videos
  • Join 150,000+ other health-conscious readers
  • We never share your information!
first name last name email address