Alaskan Sourdough Starter

Quality
Price
Value
9 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

$12.99

Product Alerts

Perishable
Perishable
Share: FB

Quality
5 star :
89%
( 8 )
4 star :
11%
( 1 )
Value
5 star :
78%
( 7 )
4 star :
22%
( 2 )
Price
5 star :
67%
( 6 )
4 star :
33%
( 3 )
Total : 9 Reviews

9 Item(s)

per page
Great product! Review by luannee06
Price
Value
Quality
I bought this after a failed attempt at a starter from another company. This is such an active starter and smells wonderful. I've baked bread twice with and and also made some pancakes. Turned out wonderful! (Posted on 12/3/2013)
Good stuff Review by dough nut
Price
Value
Quality
I'm a newcomer to sourdough bread baking and to a lesser degree, bread baking in general. This is the first sourdough starter I've tried. I followed the directions for reviving it, and it did take close to seven days to really get bubbling. Don't lose faith! I've been using it in con junction with the basic country loaf recipe/technique in the Tartine bread book for the last several months and it's been really easy to use. I haven't always been 100% on top of feeding it on schedule but it has been very forgiving. It works fairly quickly. It isn't inherently all that sour, but if you let the dough proof at a low temperature for a long time you can really bring out the sour flavor. Our house tends to be in the low to mid 60's in the winter, and that seems to be fine. To make it really sour, I put it in the fridge overnight to proof. (Posted on 1/6/2014)
Easy keeper Review by Kiki
Quality
Price
Value
I've done a few sourdough starters in the past. One I cultivated myself and also CFH New England starter (which is very good, too). This is a nice, easy, vigorous,,and forgiving starter. It has a nice soft tang to it. I never throw out excess but store in big jar in refrigerator and use for crackers and pancakes. Even the unfed excess will continue to bubble a little with no hooch. I really like it. (Posted on 1/30/2014)
A good starter, for starters. Review by iharlow
Price
Value
Quality
This starter started me making sourdough! I had no trouble cultivating the starter; after 7 days, I enjoyed my first loaf of delicious and slightly tangy sourdough bread. (Posted on 3/5/2014)
Still going strong Review by Kiki
Value
Quality
Price
I reviewed this starter back in January and wanted to update. I have had zero problems with this most forgiving starter, in August I put it in the freezer for three months until I was ready to resume bread making. Pulled starter out of freezer, and it was doing great after the first feeding.

I live in Minnesota and the inside of our home is rarely above 65 degrees. This starter is suitable for cold climates. I will proof it in oven with nothing more than oven light. Also, this starter seems to raise much faster than others I've had, literally ready to bake bread in four hours. Keep that in mind if you need a slower starter. (Posted on 11/17/2014)
awesome! Review by Kaz
Value
Quality
Price
I have tried to make my own sourdough in the past and was never successful. Using this product was so easy. I've made bread and also turned some of the extra dough into a sweet type for Amish Friendship Bread. Just baked it this morning and it is fantastic. Had to take my sleeping dough out of the refrigerator as I've used so much of it! (Posted on 11/20/2014)
great starter Review by Aunt Jane
Price
Value
Quality
Took about 4 days to get going but my first loaf of bread turned out great -- even after I let it rise too long! I expected it to rise in 4 or 5 hours and it was ready much sooner! And I left it in the oven about 5 degrees too long and it was still great!! It stay fresh for several days and was better the 2nd day than when it was fresh!! I'M HOOKED!!! (Posted on 4/28/2014)
Great tasting sourdough Review by Lisa
Value
Quality
Price
I just made pancakes for my kids with the extra dough. They both liked and ate them, which is a first with sourdough for me. This one has a mildly sour taste perfect for kids or anyone who are hesitant about the sour stuff. (Posted on 10/29/2014)
Very Easy Starter Review by Tom
Price
Value
Quality
I got this about a year and a half ago and am very pleased with it. I've had no trouble maintaining the starter; I keep it in the refrigerator between uses. The starter has a very mild flavor, so keep that in mind. Don't expect a strong sourdough taste. (Posted on 3/29/2011)

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Alaskan Sourdough Starter

  •  
    1 star
    2 stars
    3 stars
    4 stars
    5 stars
    Value
    Quality
    Price
  • * Required Fields


Free eBook Library Access & Weekly Newsletter


Sign up today for free access to our entire library of easy to follow eBooks on creating cultured foods at home, including Lacto-Fermentation, Kombucha, Kefir, Yogurt, Sourdough, and Cheesemaking.
  • Library of eBooks for making your own cultured foods
  • Weekly newsletter filled with tips & tricks
  • Expert advice articles, recipes, and how-to videos
  • Join 150,000+ other health-conscious readers
  • We never share your information!
first name last name email address