Camaldoli Sourdough Starter

Quality
Price
Value
11 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

$12.99

Product Alerts

Perishable  
Share: FB

Quality
5 star :
100%
( 11 )
Value
5 star :
91%
( 10 )
4 star :
9%
( 1 )
Price
5 star :
91%
( 10 )
4 star :
9%
( 1 )
Total : 11 Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 11 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
I should have bought it sooner! Review by catholicmom24
Price
Value
Quality
I have tried and succeeded in making my own sourdough wild yeast starter. It died a few years ago. It was very sour.

Recently, when trying to do it again, I failed. I searched through nourishing blogs and found this website.

I bought the Camaldoli and it is wonderful. I don't like San Francisco sourdough myself. It's just too strong. I wanted something something that I could use for everything, pizza crust, biscuits, sandwhich bread.

It has the most pleasant yeasty smell and flavor. It will get stronger, of course, if you do long rises.

I don't use baking powder or baking soda for my recipes with this dough. It rises beautifully on the counter and in the refrigerator.

I did keep up with the starter activating it as directed and feeding it every 12 hours. After a month, I decided to put it in the refrigerator so I could feed it less. I took it out and put it in a warm spot until it came back to life. Then I fed it using flour and water as a part of the recipe that I was using. After 8 hours, I finished the recipe. It worked great.

Truly, a Godsend.

Thank you so much for providing it. (Posted on 10/29/2013)
Wonderful! Review by ccwvu
Value
Quality
Price
Really just getting started, but I have made pancakes with extra starter and a couple cycles of bread-- both delicious. It's very tasty and not to sour, even my daughter loves it! Looking forward to exploring the many other recipes on the website to use this starter with! (Posted on 12/17/2013)
Very active starter! Review by Jeannie
Quality
Price
Value
A friend of mine bought this sourdough starter and was gracious enough to share some with me once it was fully activated. I've only had it a few days and wow is it active! So many bubbles and you can actually hear it working at its peak! I've made 1 loaf so far (using the recipe included with the starter) and it was light and tasty. It was slightly sour after proofing for 10 hours. This was not only my first sourdough loaf but my first bread making experience ever! Despite my inexperience (and a few mistakes!) it is super easy to work with. Not sure what I'm going to attempt next but I'm thinking a pizza dough is in the near future!! (Posted on 1/30/2014)
Great product! Review by Lily
Quality
Price
Value
I'm new to the world of sourdough, so this was a bit intimidating for me. I ordered the starter, followed the directions and BAM! I had lovely starter to work with. Crackers, waffles, pizza crust...SO Good. The starter is very resilient, and even when I neglected it for a few days, it bounced right back to life quickly with some TLC. Thanks for an outstanding product! (Posted on 2/12/2014)
Little Caesar Review by Sue
Price
Value
Quality
I call the Camaldoli starter, 'Little Caesar'. He's a tough character! Very active. I have had sourdough starters before, made at home. I was never very happy with these, so I went with this commercial starter. At first, I was a little OCD with getting this starter going, and then refreshing, then into the fridge. I would actually feel bad putting him into the fridge! Anyhow, now we have a system going. I'm not so manic about measuring the flour/water to get him to active status. I can 'eyeball' the measurements. The sour is pretty pronounced after a long, (24 hour) rise. Very happy with this purchase!

Response from CFH: We recommend measuring ingredients for the best results. (Posted on 3/26/2014)
WONDERFUL !!!! Review by Yvette
Quality
Price
Value
Wonderful culture. Very easy to get started and makes fabulous tasting bread. I haven't made that perfect loaf yet but I am working on it and getting closer. I am new not only to bread making but to sourdough so I won't be to hard on myself. Even though the bread didn't come out quite as planned it has had a wonderful flavor and texture. Have made pancakes and waffles and they to were also yummy. (Posted on 4/3/2014)
love this starter Review by Laurelei
Value
Quality
Price
This is not a super sour sourdough. It is lovely and creates delightful breads. The starter was easy to get going and it is staying strong! (Posted on 4/14/2014)
Delicious starter! Review by Lindsey
Value
Quality
Price
I have made basic sourdough bread and pizza crust with this starter. I love it! Excellent flavor! Even if I forget to feed it for a day, it always wakes right back up with one or two more feedings. (Posted on 10/10/2014)
Great for pizza and sweet breads. Review by Kim
Value
Quality
Price
This sourdough starter really surprised me. I started with the New Zealand Rye, and that one is extremely sour! It makes awesome sourdough bread, but not so great for desserts, plain breads or pizza.

I decided to try the Camaldoli in addition. Two starters seemed like a lot to babysit (in addition to the two kefirs, veggies and booch I have going!) - but I learned these starters are two totally different animals, so to speak. I originally thought I'd decide between the two, and only keep one going - total plan change! They are so different, they have radically different uses. It's great.

The "sourdough" pizza crust from the Camaldoli isn't really sour - it's perfect for this application. It get a great crust when baked on a stone, and has a really unique "pizza house" flavor. Love it! And I still love the New Zealand Rye! (Posted on 10/18/2014)
Happy Mom Review by Laena
Value
Quality
Price
So far so good. First ever attempt at sourdough. Bought this one because I wanted to make sure the kids would like it. Flavor is ever so slightly sour, and super kid friendly. First few attempts at bread following the basic recipe tasted great but looked terrible, now I've ditched the recipes and am just making bread by winging it and it's turning out great. Up rising now, cinnamon rolls!! (Posted on 10/23/2014)

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Camaldoli Sourdough Starter

  •  
    1 star
    2 stars
    3 stars
    4 stars
    5 stars
    Value
    Quality
    Price
  • * Required Fields


Free eBook Library Access & Weekly Newsletter


Sign up today for free access to our entire library of easy to follow eBooks on creating cultured foods at home, including Lacto-Fermentation, Kombucha, Kefir, Yogurt, Sourdough, and Cheesemaking.
  • Library of eBooks for making your own cultured foods
  • Weekly newsletter filled with tips & tricks
  • Expert advice articles, recipes, and how-to videos
  • Join 150,000+ other health-conscious readers
  • We never share your information!
first name last name email address