Plastic Strainer

Value
Quality
Price
11 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

Product Name Price Qty
2-1/2" Plastic Strainer
$3.49
3-1/2" Plastic Strainer
$5.99
Quality
5 star :
91%
( 10 )
4 star :
9%
( 1 )
Value
5 star :
100%
( 11 )
Price
5 star :
100%
( 11 )
Total : 11 Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 11 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
Love it! Review by Grantiss
Price
Value
Quality
I've used my plastic mesh strainer nearly every day for about 2 months, with no sign of wear and tear. It is very fine and is perfect for straining kefir grains. I need more, though, since I'll be straining my first batch of kombucha soon! Wish me luck! (Posted on September 13, 2013)
Plastic Strainer Review by Lily
Quality
Value
Price
Love these strainer. I've even bought some for gifting to others as there a must to have. (Posted on November 7, 2013)
Great product, perfect for Kefir Review by Emma
Price
Value
Quality
We have been making kefir for about 2 months now - and two indispensable items are a funnel and these strainers. At first the smaller strainer did the job, but as the grains have grown and our production has increased, the larger size is preferable and works perfectly with a funnel. Can't go wrong! (Posted on November 7, 2013)
Great Strainer, could be larger Review by garberark
Price
Value
Quality
The strainer works great and is very durable. For making milk Keefer, which can get some thickness, it would be better to have a larger strainer, I could use one at least twice as big or about the size of a typical kitchen strainer.
(Posted on November 19, 2013)
love it Review by irdfoxygrl
Quality
Price
Value
So glad to have this strainer. It is difficult to find a fine mesh plastic strainer, this is so useful. (Posted on December 4, 2013)
love it Review by irdfoxygrl
Quality
Value
Price
So glad to have this strainer. It is difficult to find a fine mesh plastic strainer, this is so useful. (Posted on December 4, 2013)
love it Review by irdfoxygrl
Quality
Price
Value
So glad to have this strainer. It is difficult to find a fine mesh plastic strainer, this is so useful. (Posted on December 4, 2013)
Perfect for Kefir and better than other options I tried Review by RobinPage
Quality
Price
Value
I've been using this plastic strainer for kefir weekly for a year. I was new to making kefir, but had been making yogurt for two years (low tech, not in a yogurt maker). Before buying I wanted to ensure I be successful and happy making kefir. I tried three methods-- none was as easy or successful as the strainer. Initially, when working with small amounts of kefir, I poured the liquid in a shallow pool on a dark flat plate, and separated it by hand. Works well enough for small amounts. I then tried a finely woven cheese cloth (not the mesh type). This worked well when I wrung it, but removing the grains from the cloth was difficult and messy. I also tried a very fine stainless steel sieve I already owned. As noted elsewhere, the mesh must be fine, which occurs in only expensive sieves. Ditto for the fine mesh size. Plus, when scraping the developing grains off the sieve I worried I was mashing/cutting them and not retrieving them. True, I could have turned the sieve over and rinsed with fresh milk, but that would involved getting another bowl dirty and require more milk. I often let the grains sit for a few days in a small amount of fresh milk before starting another large batch. Not only does this strainer work, in a year of heavy use, it hasn't torn, deformed, or gotten funky. I wash it by hand right after using it. Go ahead and buy it when you buy your first grains. (Posted on January 13, 2014)
Really couldn't find one locally... Review by Carole J
Price
Value
Quality
I got the larger strainer which fits perfectly on my 2 cup liquid measuring cup. The smaller one I think would fit perfectly on a mason jar? I may order one of those in the future. I imagine if I had driven all over town maybe all over Central Florida I may have found one locally...but my time is precious and just to be able to order it here and so reasonably priced. Thank you for having the supplies. (Posted on January 14, 2014)
Great for straining kombucha but not raw milk Kefir Review by Missy
Price
Value
Quality
I bought two of these strainers to use in my daily kefir making. I use raw milk and it is so thick there is no way this strainer works for that. I had to go to a large plastic colander that I still have to stir and push to get the kefir to go through. Great strainers, just not for kefir made with thick raw milk. I use them when I second ferment my kombucha. Grandkids don't like drinking drinks with things floating around, so I filter their cups with this strainer.

I see I'm not the only one who would love to see a less fine plastic mesh.
(Posted on June 26, 2014)

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Plastic Strainer

How do you rate this product? *

  1 2 3 4 5
Value
Quality
Price


Free eBook Library Access & Weekly Newsletter


Sign up today for free access to our entire library of easy to follow eBooks on creating cultured foods at home, including Lacto-Fermentation, Kombucha, Kefir, Yogurt, Sourdough, and Cheesemaking.
  • Library of eBooks for making your own cultured foods
  • Weekly newsletter filled with tips & tricks
  • Expert advice articles, recipes, and how-to videos
  • Join 150,000+ other health-conscious readers
  • We never share your information!
first name last name email address