Mild Flavor Yogurt Starter

Price
Value
Quality
31 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

$9.99
Quality
5 star :
97%
( 30 )
4 star :
3%
( 1 )
Value
5 star :
87%
( 27 )
4 star :
10%
( 3 )
3 star :
3%
( 1 )
Price
5 star :
87%
( 27 )
4 star :
10%
( 3 )
3 star :
3%
( 1 )
Total : 31 Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 31 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
Excellent Yogurt Starter Review by Theresa
Price
Value
Quality
I made yogurt with this starter and it is the best yogurt I have ever made. If you like Stonyfield, you should use this starter. It was excellent (Posted on September 13, 2011)
Light and Delicious Review by Ester
Price
Value
Quality
This yogurt is light, delicious and yes, it tastes like the YoBaby from Stonyfield which my kids love. I am making a raw yogurt with this and it comes out great. Thank you! (Posted on November 15, 2011)
Mild and Creamy Review by Kayman
Value
Quality
Price
I have looked for a yogurt like I get in Paris. This one is so close. I make with 34 oz. whole milk and 8 oz. of heavy cream (1/8 tsp. starter) and incubate for 7 hours. When done, add strawberry jam to taste. It is extremely close to what I get in Paris. So delicious!!! (Posted on March 14, 2012)
The perfect yogurt Review by Huck
Price
Value
Quality
We love this starter. It makes a very mild yogurt that my six year old eats without any sweetener. (Posted on March 2, 2012)
Delicious Review by tiger
Value
Quality
Price
Well as I continue my journey to optimal health and weight loss I have to add another delicious delight to my list of excellent products purchased from this site. Mild Yogurt. OMG this was so delicious!!! I have to find out which heirloom variety tastes the most similar. Thanks again for this delicious treat!!! (Posted on January 10, 2013)
Terrific Mild Flavored Yogurt Review by Gina
Quality
Price
Value
The mild flavor yogurt culture is awesome! I couldn't be happier with the way it turns out with never a disappointment. I let it incubate for about 6 to 7 hours and can alway be sure of a wonderful consistency. This make fabulous greek yogurt although I might let it drain a bit longer than necessary but the final product is great. I have become very popular with my neighbor and dear friends that I share this special treat.

Because I live so far away from any store, I use nonfat dry milk and add a half cup of heavy cream to a gallon and a half of reconstituted milk. I don't want too much cream because of being conscious of my weight as well as my dog who also enjoys the yogurt. The vet said it is good for his digestion.
Anyway, along with other reviewers, thank you so much for having this variety available. I enjoy the other yogurt cultures and use them for the liquid in bran muffins, but for a great treat, the mild yogurt flavor is my favorite.
(Posted on January 11, 2013)
thick, tasty yogurt Review by allison
Price
Value
Quality
My family loves this yogurt starter. I make 1 qt. with 1/2 c. powdered milk and culture it for about 5 hours and get thick thick thick (like store bought stuff) yogurt. I usually reculture it 2 or 3 times and it's still pretty thick after the 3rd culture. My daughter and I eat it without any sweetener and my husband and boys prefer just a sprinkling of sugar. (Posted on May 8, 2013)
Works well in raw milk! Review by ZenMomma
Price
Value
Quality
I have purchased and used an heirloom culture (the Bulgarian), but I found it to be really cumbersome to maintain since I prefer to make raw goats milk yoghurt. I have a large and busy family, and I culture a lot of foods (sauerkraut, sour pickles, water kefir, daily sourdough bread, kimchi). I found that maintaining a pure seed starter was an extra step that made it a challenge for me to keep up with making yoghurt. I have a 9 tray Excalibur dehydrator and a Yogotherm. Running the dehydrator for just a cup of pure seed starter was not an option, and the Yogotherm works best with the 2 quart bucket provided. I purchased the direct set culture and have been very pleased. I've made 5 batches now (2 quarts per batch) with raw goats milk and each batch comes out consistent and tastes great! It's just the right amount of tang for what we like, and not having to worry about maintaining a pure seed starter has been nice. I will definitely be purchasing the Mild Flavour Yoghurt Starter again! (Posted on May 11, 2013)
Delicious yogurt my whole family enjoys! Review by Carly
Value
Quality
Price
I also love the villi yogurt culture - but my husband and daughter didn't. But this they LOVE. I gladly eat it without sweetener while they add a bit of sugar or honey to theirs. There's no sour taste at all. The texture is very creamy and the yogurt was nice and thick without having to strain it or add any kind of thickener. I am so thrilled with this culture. Easy and delicious!

Now I'm planning to experiment with using alternative milks to make yogurt with this culture. Here's hoping it will turn out yogurt we like that way too! (Posted on May 16, 2013)
works in cashew milk Review by Carly
Price
Value
Quality
Since starting to use this yogurt culture, we've had to go casein-free. I'm thrilled to report that this starter has worked beautifully with homemade cashew milk. We have played around with thickeners and prefer the results we get with gelatin. It also helps with creaminess to make particularly rich nut milk - something between cashew milk and cashew cream. I'm so glad we get to keep enjoying this wonderful culture even without dairy. (Posted on June 29, 2013)

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Mild Flavor Yogurt Starter

How do you rate this product? *

  1 2 3 4 5
Price
Value
Quality


Free eBook Library Access & Weekly Newsletter


Sign up today for free access to our entire library of easy to follow eBooks on creating cultured foods at home, including Lacto-Fermentation, Kombucha, Kefir, Yogurt, Sourdough, and Cheesemaking.
  • Library of eBooks for making your own cultured foods
  • Weekly newsletter filled with tips & tricks
  • Expert advice articles, recipes, and how-to videos
  • Join 140,000+ other health-conscious readers
  • We never share your information!
first name last name email address