The Two Types of Kefir

There are two different types of kefir. Milk kefir, a probiotic beverage, is fairly well-known, and can be found in many grocery stores.

Water kefir is another probiotic-rich beverage; however, water kefir is dairy-free. Water kefir is also a lighter beverage and can be flavored any number of ways.

Each type of kefir has unique characteristics and is made slightly differently. If you're looking to add probiotics to your daily routine, see which of these fermented beverages is best for you!

HOW KEFIR IS MADE

Milk Kefir is made with cow milk, goat milk, or coconut milk. It may also be made with other non-dairy milks, though results may be inconsistent. You will also need a starter culture, such as Milk Kefir Grains or a powdered Kefir Starter Culture.

LEARN MORE: How to Make Milk Kefir | How to Make Kefir Using a Powdered Kefir Starter Culture

Water Kefir is made with sugar water, fruit juice, or coconut water. Water kefir also requires a starter culture. You can use a Kefir Starter Culture or Water Kefir Grains, depending on how often you want to make water kefir.

HOW-TO VIDEO: How to Make Water Kefir

WHAT KEFIR CONTAINS

Milk Kefir Grains are a traditional reusable starter culture used to make a probiotic-rich beverage with live active yeast and bacteria. Our Milk Kefir Grains are propagated in organic milk.

LEARN MOREComposition Of Milk Kefir Grains: Bacteria & Yeasts

Water Kefir Grains are a traditional reusable starter culture used to make a dairy-free cultured beverage with live active yeast and bacteria. Our Water Kefir Grains are grown in organic sugar and filtered water.

LEARN MOREComposition Of Water Kefir Grains: Bacteria & Yeasts

HOW KEFIR TASTES

Milk Kefir tastes like a cultured milk. The taste of any particular batch depends on the level of fermentation. Well-fermented kefir can have a strong sour or tart taste and can even be a bit carbonated. Shorter fermentation can yield a more mild flavor.

Water Kefir tends to have a sweet, slightly fermented flavor. Most people prefer flavored water kefir.

HOW KEFIR IS FLAVORED

Milk Kefir can be flavored by blending in fresh or frozen fruit, flavor extracts such as vanilla, sweeteners such as honey, maple syrup, stevia and more. Some people choose to ferment milk kefir a second time to enhance the flavor.

Water Kefir can be flavored using fresh or dried fruit, flavor extracts such as vanilla, fruit juice, or even herbs.

OTHER Ways to Use KEFIR

Milk Kefir grains can be used to inoculate cream to make cultured butter or kefir cream. Extra milk kefir grains may be used as starter culture for fermenting vegetables. Extra milk kefir can be used for sourdough or to soak flour before baking.

Water Kefir can be added to non-dairy milk to make a non-dairy kefir (use ¼ cup water kefir in 2-3 cups non-dairy milk). Extra water kefir grains may be used as starter culture for fermenting vegetables. Extra water kefir can be used as a booster for making gluten-free sourdough starter.